Cowley College

2010-2011 Board of Trustees

2010-2011 Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is a six person corporate body elected by the citizens of Cowley County who assist the president of the college in the management of the institution.

Board meetings are held the third Monday of each month at 6:15 pm in the  McAtee Dining Center, 206 South 4th Street, Arkansas City, KS. All Board of Trustee meetings are open to the public.

Upcoming dates for the 2010-2011 Board of Trustee meetings are August 9, September 20, October 18, November 15, December 20, January 18, February 21, March 21, April 18, May 16, June 20 and July 18.

To view Press Releases that summarize the board meetings and highlight discussions and decisions, go to Board Meeting Highlights.

Board members include:

Donna Avery KACCT Voting Delegate
Albert Bacastow, Jr. Chairman
Ron Godsey ACCT Voting Delegate
Lee Gregg, Jr. Vice-Chairman
Mark Paton Representative for Professional Negotiations and
Trustee designated to open bids received for college purchases
Dennis K. Shurtz Board representative to the College College Foundation
Board Appointments include Libby Palmer as clerk of the Board, Tony Crouch as treasurer of the Board, and David Andreas as Board attorney.


Donna J. Avery, Board Member

Donna AveryDonna has been a board member since July of 1998. Her current term expires in July 2013.

When asked what the role of a board member was, she replied “Board members are charged with making policy, approval of the budget, representing the taxpayers in fiscal oversight, strategic planning, making decisions in the best interests of the students, the faculty, and the institution. Board members interact directly with the president of the college. The president provides board members with the information and data we need to make sound business decisions.”

Donna is serving as the board representative to the AQIP council.

Donna was married for 55+ years to Joe Avery, a Cowley alumnus.

Donna attended Cowley also. They have four children, all Cowley alumnae. Three of their spouses have also graduated from or attended Cowley. Donna has eight wonderful grandchildren and three great grandchildren.

Donna interests include church activities, traveling, cooking, entertaining, and attending the grandchildren's sports activities.

Donna loves being involved in Cowley as a trustee and considers that one of her "favorite" activities.

Albert Bacastow Jr., Vice Chairman

Albert BacastowAlbert has been a board member for 18 years. His term expires in July 2013.

Mr. Bacastow said that one of his primary roles as a board member is to hire the administrators and then let them do their jobs. The board sets policies and oversees all of the general college operations.

Albert grew up on a farm southeast of Arkansas City. He graduated from Arkansas City High School. He is also a 1965 Arkansas City Junior College (now Cowley County Community College) graduate. Albert received a business administration degree from Southwestern College. He is married to Karen and has one daughter, who is a high school senior. Ron farms and enjoys sports and hunting.

Ron Godsey, Board Member

Ron GodseyRon has been on the board since 1995. His present term expires July 2011. Mr. Godsey feels that one of his primary roles is to hire the Chief Executive Officer for the college (i.e. President). Board members endorse policies and procedures. They are not concerned with the day-to-day operations of the college.

Ron is married to Donetta; he has two grown daughters, and five grandchildren. He graduated from CCCC in 1979, with honors. He served in the healthcare finance world for 30 years before retiring. He now owns and operates the Sears store in Winfield, KS.

Lee Gregg Jr., Board Member

Lee GreggMr. Gregg has been a board member since July 1, 1999. His term expires July 2011.
He has previously served as board chairman.

Lee was born and reared in Arkansas City. He attended Cowley before graduating from Emporia State University. Lee is a Certified Public Accountant, Certified Financial Planner and has practiced accounting since 1974.

He is married to Susan and has two grown children (Dave & Diana). Mr. Gregg’s hobbies include golf, walking, biking, dominos and watching sports of all types. He is a Vietnam veteran (two tours) while serving in the U.S. Navy. He has also served on the Arkansas City Commission (eight years) with two terms as mayor.

Mark Paton, Chairman

Mark PatonMark has been a board member since July 2003. His term expires July 2011.

Mr. Paton feels that his primary role as a board member is helping with the overall direction of the college, including: solid financial condition, strong leadership in administration, quality education for students, quality services to the community, and quality facilities and equipment.

Mark is married to Debra. They have two sons; Andrew and Russell. He is the owner of Paton Wholesale and Vending. Mark graduated from CCCC in 1972 and from Kansas State University in 1974. Mr. Paton’s home town is Arkansas City.

Dennis K. Shurtz, Board Member

Dennis ShurtzDennis K. Shurtz was elected to the board in 2009. His term expires in July 2013. Dennis served as a member of the Board from 1991 to 1999 and was Board Chair once during his pair of four-year terms.


Last updated August 2010.