Cowley College

2013-2014 Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

Pictured, left to right, are Dennis K. Shurtz, Mark Paton, Bob Juden, Brian Sanderholm, Ned Graham, Jim Ramirez, and Ron Godsey.

The Board of Trustees is a six person corporate body elected by the citizens of Cowley County who assist the president of the college in the management of the institution.

Board meetings are held the third Monday of each month at 6:45 pm in the  McAtee Dining Center, 206 South 4th Street, Arkansas City, KS. All Board of Trustee meetings are open to the public.

To view the official minutes, press releases that summarize the board meetings and highlight discussions and decisions, go to Board Meeting Highlights.

Board members include:

Chairman: Ron Godsey
Vice-Chairman: Dennis K. Shurtz
Voting Delegate to Kansas Association of Community Colleges Trustees (KACCT): Ned Graham
Voting Delegate to the Association of Community Colleges Trustees (ACCT ): Jim Ramirez
Professional Negotiations Board Representative: Brian Sanderholm
Board Representative to Open Bids: Bob Juden
College College Foundation Board Representative Dennis K. Shurtz
Board Appointments include Libby Palmer as Clerk of the Board, Tony Crouch as Treasurer of the Board, and David Andreas as Attorney of the Board..


Ron Godsey

Ron GodseyRon Godsey has been on the board since 1995. His current term expires July 2015.

Godsey feels that one of his primary roles is to hire the Chief Executive Officer for the college (i.e. President). Board members endorse policies and procedures. They are not concerned with the day-to-day operations of the college.

Godsey is married to Donetta; he has two grown daughters and five grandchildren. He graduated from CCCC in 1979, with honors. He served in the healthcare finance world for 30 years before retiring. He now owns and operates the Sears store in Winfield, KS.

Ned Graham

Ned GrahamNed Graham has been a board member since July 2013. His current term expires in July 2017.

Graham is currently a Sales Associate with Albright Realty in Winfield.  He has two sons, one in Wichita and one in Broken Arrow, Oklahoma; they each have two sons.

Robert "Bob" Juden

JudenBob Juden has been a board member since July 2013.

His current term expires in July 2017.

Juden brings his previous experience as an educator and Cowley College employee to the board.  He feels the primary focus for Cowley is to provide strong educational offerings that allow students to attain their goals. It is also important to stay on a pathway that promotes quality facilities for the classroom and activities.

Juden graduated from Cowley and completed his degree at Southwestern College. His family includes his wife Reatha and two children Tyler and Jacey. He is retired from teaching and coaching in USD 470.

Mark Paton

Mark PatonMark Paton has been a board member since July 2003. His current term expires July 2015.

Paton feels that his primary role as a board member is helping with the overall direction of the college, including: solid financial condition, strong leadership in administration, quality education for students, quality services to the community, and quality facilities and equipment.

He is married to Debra. They have two sons; Andrew and Russell. Paton is the owner of Paton Wholesale and Vending. Paton graduated from CCCC in 1972 and from Kansas State University in 1974. His home town is Arkansas City.

Jim Ramirez

Jim RamirezJim Ramirez has been a board member since July 2011. His current term expires July 2015.

Ramirez feels that the primary roles of the board are to ensure the college provides good leadership from the top level down, represent taxpayers in sound fiscal oversight, remain goal-oriented with a strong passion for growth of the college with a vision quest for meeting tomorrows needs associated with program and services, all while making sure accreditation standards remain a high priority in providing a quality education at an affordable price.

Ramirez is married to Karon. They have two daughters, three step-daughters, and 11 grandchildren. He is owner of the Alumni Grill & Bar in Arkansas City. Ramirez is a 1977 graduate of South Dakota State University and was elected into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame. 

Brian Sanderholm

Brian SanderholmBrian Sanderholm has been a board member since July of 2013. His current term expires in July 2017.

Dennis K. Shurtz

Dennis ShurtzDennis K. Shurtz was elected to the board in 2009 and reelected in 2013. His current term expires in July 2017. Shurtz also served as Board Chairman when he was a member of the Board from 1991 to 1999.


Last updated July 2013.