Cowley College Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

Cowley College Board of Trustees

Pictured, left to right, are Dennis Shurtz, Bob Juden (Chairman), Jill Long, JoLynn Foster, Sid Regnier, Brian Sanderholm, Ned Graham, and Dr. Dennis C. Rittle.

The Board of Trustees is a seven person corporate body elected by the citizens of Cowley County who assist the president of the college in the management of the institution.

Board meetings are held the third Monday of each month at 6:00 pm in the  McAtee Dining Center, 206 South 4th Street, Arkansas City, KS. All Board of Trustee meetings are open to the public.

To view the official minutes, press releases that summarize the board meetings and highlight discussions and decisions, go to Board Meeting Highlights.

For the Board Handbook, click here.

For the Board and Appointments, click here.

Board members include:

Chairman: Bob Juden
Vice-Chairman: JoLynn Foster
Past Chairman: Dennis Shurtz
Voting Delegate to Kansas Association of Community Colleges Trustees (KACCT): Jill Long
Voting Delegate to the Association of Community Colleges Trustees (ACCT ): Brian Sanderholm
Cowley College Foundation Board Representative Ned Graham
Trustee Representative to the Tiger Booster Club Ned Graham
Alternate delegate to the Kansas Association of Community College Trustees
Brian Sanderholm
Alternate delegate to the Association of Community Colleges Trustees
Dennis Shurtz
Clerk of the Board: Tiffany Vollmer
Treasurer of the Board: Dr. Gloria Walker
Legal Counsel for the Board: David Andreas

Robert JudenRobert "Bob" Juden

Bob Juden has been a board member since July 2013. His current term expires in July 2017. Juden brings his previous experience as an educator and Cowley College employee to the board.  He feels the primary focus for Cowley is to provide strong educational offerings that allow students to attain their goals. It is also important to stay on a pathway that promotes quality facilities for the classroom and activities.

Juden graduated from Cowley and completed his degree at Southwestern College. His family includes his wife Reatha and two children Tyler and Jacey. He is retired from teaching and coaching in USD 470.

JoLynn FosterJoLynn Foster

Elected to Board April, 2015. Cowley College is of vital importance to Arkansas City and the County to both the students and the financial stability of the area.  Interested in aiding the college in growth while maintaining a strong fiscal position.

Graduate of Arkansas city High School and Wichita State University with a degree in Accounting. Past member of AICPA and Kansas Society of Certified Public Accounts. Employed by Parman, Tanner, Soule & Jackson as staff accountant for nine years. Regional Air Carrier Controller for eight years. Employed at G.E. Engine services in Finance and Compliance department for 17 years. Current Community involvement includes Treasurer of Board of South Central Kansas Regional Medical Center, Treasurer of local Habitat for Humanity chapter, Finance Chairman of Sacred Heart Catholic Church and member of Board of Zoning Appeals of Arkansas City. Married to Robert Foster. Have three married daughters, eight grandchildren and one great grandson.

Dennis ShurtzDennis K. Shurtz

Dennis K. Shurtz was elected to the board in 2009 and reelected in 2013. His current term expires in July 2017. Shurtz also served as Board Chairman when he was a member of the Board from 1991 to 1999.

Jill LongJill Long

Jill Long has been a board member since July 2016.

She has been a Certified Public Accountant for over 30 years.

She owns a public accounting firm in Winfield Kansas — JP LONG CPA LLC. Her practice focuses on helping small businesses and the families that own them, set and achieve their goals. Jill was born and raised in Nebraska. Her accounting degree is from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Jill is currently the Treasurer of Cumbernauld Village, Sec/Treasurer of Winfield Economic Development and Past President of Winfield Area Chamber of Commerce.

She has also served as the President of the Winfield Public Library, Treasurer of Winfield Isle of Lights, Inc., Treasurer, Winfield Country Club, and President, Soroptimist of Winfield along with many other worthwhile organizations.

Jill and her husband Jeff, have raised their boys, Wilson and Bennett, in Winfield and are proud to call Cowley County Kansas, their home.

Ned GrahamNed Graham

Ned Graham has been a board member since July 2013. His current term expires in July 2017.

Graham is currently a Sales Associate with Albright Realty in Winfield.  He has two sons, one in Wichita and one in Broken Arrow, Oklahoma; they each have two sons.

Brian SanderholmBrian Sanderholm

Brian Sanderholm has been a board member since July of 2013. His current term expires in July 2017.


Last updated March 2017.