Galle-Johnson HallHistory


Galle-Johnson Hall

Winter of 1950, groundbreaking began on a new college building. It was officially opened and ready for use in 1952. At the commencement exercises in 1974, the structure was officially named Galle-Johnson Hall honoring the work of the late Kurt R. Galle, who was dean at the time of its construction, and the late Dr. Paul Johnson, who was the first president of the College.

In Cowley College’s 80+ years of rich history there have been only three presidents. Dr. Paul Johnson 1963-1967, Dr. Gwen Nelson 1968-1987, Dr. Patrick McAtee 1987-2012.

The Main Level consists of: the Switchboard and Information Desk, Admissions Dept. , Financial Aid Dept., Office of the Registrar, President’s Office, Administrative Offices, Scholarship, Business Office, Endowment Office, Public Relations Dept., and the Band Room.

The Upper Level houses the Natural Science Department.

The Lower Level contains the Mailroom, and some Computer Services Offices.

[Back to History Table of Contents]