A&F Newsletter

Summer 2004


Student of the Year

Rebekah Krusemark was named Student of the Year April 13 during the annual Celebration of Excellence, the honors and awards banquet held in the Earle N. Wright Community Room inside the Brown Center. Krusemark, a Winfield native, was Cowley’s December Student of the Month. She is the daughter of Nancy and David Krusemark.

She is a sophomore computer graphic arts major who is a member of the Art Club, Chess Club, Math & Science Club, Campus Christian Fellowship, Phi Theta Kappa, and Mu Alpha Theta. She’s also a member of the Jazz Band, Concert Band, and the Winfield City Band. She serves as librarian for the Winfield City Band and is an Art Club volunteer for an after school program at the Denton Art Center. She has been listed on the National Dean’s List, received the Silver Key award from the Scholastic Art Show and Competition in 2002, and took second place in Cowley’s first Hutzbah Awards, sponsored last year by the Art Club.

She attends Cowley on an instrumental music scholarship, an Arkansas City Area Arts Council scholarship, and a St. John’s Alumni Scholarship. She plans to transfer to Concordia University in Seward, Neb. For being named Student of the Year, Krusemark received a bouquet of 100 $1 bills, prepared by Vicki Crouch, dorm manager and manager of the Tiger Deli. Krusemark was honored numerous times during the banquet.

She was awarded for her contributions to the Art Club, Chess Club, Math & Science Club, and as a Student of the Month. Other Cowley Students of the Month who were eligible for the Student of the Year award were Sarah Pritchard of Augusta; Rachel Warren of Geuda Springs; Lynsey MacInnis of Weyburn, Saskatchewan, Canada; Jake Conley of Rogers, Ark.; Nathan Markley of Wellington; Sarah Area of Havensville; and Lucas Goff of Arkansas City.

Awards were presented to students who participate in 16 clubs and organizations. Top awards went to: Jonathan Paxson, Argonia, for Act One Drama Club; Mark Dykes, Arkansas City, Golden Shovel Award for the Art Club; Chris Craft, Caldwell, Chess Club; Megan O’Neill, Milton, Debate/Forensics; Toni Carlson, Arkansas City, Journalism Club (Student Publications); Zeb Wilson, South Haven, Peers Advocating Wellness for Students; Jessica Whitson, Oxford, Phi Beta Lambda; Charlotte Hulsey, Arkansas City, Phi Theta Kappa; Shayla McDonald, Arkansas City, Student Ambassador of the Year; Megan Whitehead, Arkansas City, Student Government Association; Devin Woods, Manhattan, Vocal Music; and A.J. Ybarra, Wellington, Volunteers Learning Through Service.


Summer 2004