A&F Newsletter

Winter 2005


Faculty/Staff Honors

Slade Griffiths, Department Chair of Allied Health, was named 2005 Outstanding Instructor/Coordinator by the Kansas EMT Association. He was also named to the list of 2005 Who’s Who Among America’s Teachers.

Ben Schears, Admissions Coordinator, received the Beth Tedrow “Outstanding New Professional” Award from KACRAO (Kansas Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers) at its fall conference in September.

Ed Hargrove, Lady Tiger head softball coach, was named Jayhawk Conference Eastern Division Softball Coach of the Year for 2005; He was also recently honored with a plaque commemorating his 700th win at the National Fastpitch Coaches Association Annual Conference in Orlando, FL.

Connie Schaefer, who was hired as a Nursing Coordinator in July, was included in the 2005-2006 Edition of the Manchester Who’s Who Registry of Executives and Professionals as a Registered Nurse in May.

Bob Moffatt, Industrial Technology Department Instructor, was recognized as a Certified Welding Inspector and a Certified Welding Educator through the American Welding Society in July.

Mike Fell, Art Instructor, received the best of show award at the Winfield Art in the Park Show in October.

Bev Grunder, Department Chair of Business, Computer, and Information Technology, was named to the 2004-2005 Who’s Who Among America’s Teachers. She has also been notified that she has been selected for inclusion in the 10th edition 2005-2006 Who’s Who Among America’s Teachers. She is also listed in the seventh edition of Who’s Who in American Education. She also garnered American Red Cross Northern Cowley County Chapter Volunteer Recognition for serving as the county chapter treasurer.

Gary Gackstatter, Director of Instrumental Music, was named State Composition Chairman for the Kansas Music Educators Association as well as Chairman for the Southwest Division of the Music Educators National Conference. He also will have one of his compositions featured at the International Midwest Music Festival held annually in Chicago, Ill. This is the second year in a row for Gackstatter’s work to be performed at the festival.

Cliff Roderick, Industrial Technology Department Instructor, was named to the list of Who’s Who Among America’s Teachers.

Bruce Watson, Public Community Counselor / Minority Counselor/Athletic Department Counselor, was given special recognition from the City and the Northwest Community Organization for his involvement and service to the Northwest community and Arkansas City community during the Northwest Community Center Reunion in October 2005.

Denise M. Irwin, Creative Director, was named to the 2005 Who’s Who Among America’s Teachers. She also was the recipient of the Arkansas City Beautification Award for her work on the Community Mural Project.

Sue Saia, Dean of Student Life, received Master Presenter awards from the NISOD Conference in May.

Bruce Crouse, Department Chair of Career and Technical Education, received Master Presenter awards from the NISOD Conference in May.

Michelle Schoon, Natural Science Department Chair and life sciences instructor, recently became the fourth recipient of the Paul Stirnaman Memorial Award for Teaching Excellence.

Joanna Pryor, head volleyball coach, was recently named the Jayhawk Conference Eastern Division Coach of the Year.


Winter 2005