A&F Newsletter

Summer 2009


Elizabeth Smith named Cowley College Student of the Year

Dr. Pat McAtee and Elizabeth SmithHaving been recognized several times throughout the annual Honors and Awards Ceremony for her contributions as a student at Cowley College, Elizabeth Smith capped the evening by being named the school’s Student of the Year.

Smith, a sophomore accounting major from Rock, was also named the top student in the Business, Computer and Information Technology Department, the Phi Beta Lambda organization, and was a recipient of a Student Activities ABCD (Above and Beyond the Call of Duty) Award.

At Cowley, Smith was the president of Phi Beta Lambda and State Treasurer for PBL. She is also active in Math and Science Club, Mu Alpha Theta, PTK, AEC, Media Club, Film Club, Act One, and the Young Democrats. She also served as a SGA representative for PBL, and was a Cowley Tutor and Cowley Captain.

Smith had a 4.0 grade point average at Cowley College. In fact, she has never made any grade other than an “A” since she began her schooling. She graduated from Cowley with 84 credit hours.

A representative from each department at Cowley College honored students that have excelled during the 2008-09 academic year during the ceremony.

Award recipients:

  • Academic Excellence Challenge — Jake Fletcher, Jamie Nichols, Joshua Arsenault, Richard Gould, Elizabeth Smith
  • All USA-Kansas Community College Academic Team — Emily Crain, Candice Bliss, Tina Wohlford, Keoki Waipa
  • Student Ambassadors — Jaclyn Balzer, Lynlea Bartlett, Brianna Byers, Blythe Colquhoun, Emily Crain, Elizabeth Davidson, Kelsey Ford, Tara Glaser, Thomas Govert, Chris Loftin, Willy Lucero, Lauren McGuigan, Isaiah Owens, Missy Patterson, Crystal Rausch, Alicia Rayl, Andy Rouse, Boomer Saia, Amy Slane, Dori Stevens, John Windle
  • Student Ambassador of the Year — Willy Lucero
  • Resident Assistants — Andy Petz, Mike Flanagin, Thomas Govert, Elena Yankova, Darby Lupardes, Jacey Sechrest, Kip Stout, Justin Viewins, Willy Lucero, Kayla Compton, Kati Rinehart, Kari Rinehart, Brianna Byers, Sabrina McKinney, Tara Glaser
  • Student Government Association — John Windle, Brianna Byers, Lynlea Bartlett, Richard Gould, Kati Rinehart, Kari Rinehart
  • Student Activities ABCD Awards — Kayla Compton, Rolando Vasquez, Elizabeth Smith, Willy Lucero, Emily Crain
  • Cowley Tutors — Emily Crain
  • Derek Burroughs Award — Kayla Compton
  • Academic Civic Engagement through Service — Candice Bliss, Daniel Shipley
  • Act One Drama Club — Andy Rouse, Darci Mann
  • Art and Design Club — Sheridan Moss, Brett Rethmeier
  • Black Student Union and Students Honoring All Different Ethnicities — Jessica McLeod, Phvong Hyunh
  • Campus Christian Fellowship — Jamie Blackim, Darci Mann
  • Chess Club — Sarah Montgomery
  • College Republicans — Emily Crain
  • Cowley College Young Democrats — Aubrey Lyman
  • Creative Claws — Joanna Carson, Danielle Carson
  • Film Club — Thomas Govert
  • Instrumental Music — Ben Byers, Derek Vaden
  • Math & Science Club — Annette Zimmerman, Tammie Zimmerman
  • Math & Science Club (Mulvane) — Titus DeGraaf, Adam Brayboy
  • Media Club — Ashlie L’Homme, Ben Whitener
  • Multicultural Scholars Program — Robert Young
  • Peers Advocating Wellness for Students — Tara Glaser, Brianna Byers
  • Phi Beta Lambda — Elizabeth Smith
  • Phi Theta Kappa — Emily Crain, Jessie Zimmerman
  • Phi Theta Kappa (Mulvane) — Stacey Storck, Tina Wohlford
  • Skills USA — Jeff Gage
  • Vocal Music —Anna Stevens
  • Allied Health Department — T.C. Bodwell
  • Business, Computer and Information Technology Department — Elizabeth Smith
  • Career and Technical Education Department — Paul Koenke
  • Humanities Department — Lauren McGuigan
  • Natural Science Department — Amy Christensen
  • Social Science Department — Heather Jordan
  • Students of the Month — Sarah Smith, Andy Petz, Willy Lucero, Lauren McGuigan, Emily Crain, Boomer Saia, Elizabeth Smith, Darci Mann
  • Student of the Year — Elizabeth Smith

Summer 2009