A&F Newsletter

Summer 2009


Shurtz returns to college’s Board of Trustees

After a 10-year hiatus, Dennis K. Shurtz is once again a member of the Cowley College Board of Trustees. Along with Shurtz, incumbents Donna Avery and Albert Bacastow Jr. were re-elected to the board.

Avery, who serves as the Board Chair, was top vote-getter in the local elections. Shurtz was second, while Bacastow Jr. was third.

Avery is in her 11th year on the Board and has served as Board Chair two times, while Bacastow Jr. has served on the Board for the past 21 years and has been Board Chair four times. Shurtz served as a member of the Board from 1991 to 1999 and was Board Chair once during his pair of four-year terms.

Cowley College president Dr. Patrick J. McAtee is looking forward to working with all three individuals.

“I am delighted to have the opportunity to work again with Albert Bacastow Jr., who was president of the original Board that hired me in 1987,” McAtee said. “I am also delighted to work with current Board Chair Donna Avery, and look forward to working again with Dennis Shurtz, who was a valuable Board member when he was previously on the Board.”

Other members of the Board are, Mark Paton, Ron Godsey, and Lee Gregg Jr.

Summer 2009