A&F Newsletter

Winter 2010


Weller receives Paul Stirnaman Award

Paul Stirnaman AwardProviding the tools students need to succeed in their educational pursuits, Cowley College mathematics instructor, Karolee Weller, was recognized as the school’s recipient of the Paul Stirnaman Memorial Award for Teaching Excellence.

Weller is in her 13th year as an instructor in the Natural Science department at Cowley College. Previously, she taught several semesters as an adjunct faculty member at Cowley at the Mulvane center.

“Karolee is very deserving of the Stirnaman Award for Teaching Excellence,” Michelle Schoon, Natural Science Department Chair said. “She is an instructor that truly cares about the success of her students and will spend many hours working with students “one-on-one” in her office.”

Prior to coming to Cowley, she taught math at Mulvane High School. She and her husband, Joe, still reside in Mulvane and have three sons.

The award is named for Paul Stirnaman, a long-time Social Science Department instructor and strong supporter of the College Education Association. He died June 16, 2000, following a lengthy illness.

Weller currently teaches Elementary Algebra, Intermediate Algebra and College Algebra. She has worked hard to make the computer aided instructions (CAI) math courses a success and has been mentoring instructors in this method of teaching.

“Teaching at Cowley, I really enjoy the interesting mix of students that enroll in my classes each semester,” Weller said. “I am so proud to work alongside the people that I do at Cowley and this award reminds me how very proud I am of the profession I have chosen.”

Weller’s first introduction to Paul Stirnaman was from former Cowley instructor, Chris Vollweider, who painted a colorful picture of a unique, dedicated instructor.

“It was clear that he placed great value in his profession as an educator and demonstrated that, in part, by his close involvement with the NEA organization,” Weller said. “He was an example to many. So what an honor it is to receive this award in his name.”

Winter 2010