News & Events




Press Release



February 10, 2004

Roberts, Warren to represent Cowley on PTK All-Kansas team

Roberts, Warren to represent Cowley on PTK All-Kansas teamRoberts, Warren to represent Cowley on PTK All-Kansas team Lisa Roberts and Rachel Warren, graduates of Arkansas City High School, have been chosen to represent Cowley County Community College on the All-Kansas Academic Team sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa.


The two are among 44 students from Kansas community colleges who will be honored at the Ninth Annual PTK Honors Luncheon Feb. 18 at the Holiday Inn West/Holidome in Topeka. Students were chosen by meeting certain criteria, including the degree of academic classes taken, campus involvement, a 4.0 grade-point average, and writing several essays. A recommendation from a faculty member also was to be considered for this honor.


Todd Shepherd, Cowley's faculty PTK sponsor, said he was looking for students who stood out in the crowd academically.


"From the recommendation from the faculty, these are two top-notch students," Shepherd said. "I'm proud to see both of these students recognized for their high academic achievements."


Roberts is the daughter of Kenneth and Janet Roberts. She is involved in the Math and Science Club, Mu Alpha Theta, and PTK.


When asked how it felt to be representing Cowley and PTK, Roberts said, "Overall, I think it's nice to be recognized for all our hard work. It's nice that the teachers nominate and that they have faith in me."


Roberts is a finance major who plans to attend Oklahoma State University in the fall.


Warren, the daughter of Tom and JoLynn Warren, also is involved in Mu Alpha Theta, PTK, and the Math and Science Club. She also is a Student Ambassador for the college.


"It's a big honor and a big responsibility to represent our school at such an event," Warren said.


Warren is a pre-medicine major who plans to attend the University of Kansas in the fall.


Not only are both women being honored, they each will receive a proclamation issued by Gov. Kathleen Sebelius, an educational scholarship of $300, and an academic medallion.


One of the benefits of membership in PTK, the national honor society for two-year colleges, is scholarship money. Each year, between $3 million and $5 million in scholarships is given away to PTK members nationwide. Traditionally, Kansas Board of Regents universities and Washburn University have provided scholarships in the amount of $1,000 for the All-Kansas Team recipients who transfer to their institutions.


Each scholar also is a nominee for the 2004 All-USA Academic Team, sponsored by USA Today newspaper, PTK, and the American Association of Community Colleges.


To become a member of PTK, a student must achieve and maintain a minimum 3.25 GPA and carry 12 credit hours a semester. They also must receive three recommendations from full-time instructors.


Members of PTK are high-caliber students and exhibit the qualities that can make them the leaders of tomorrow. It has been said that PTK is more than just a club; it is an honor to be a member.


"This opportunity opens up doors and it looks good on transcripts," Roberts said.


Community college students nationwide compete for places on the first, second and third All-USA teams, each team comprising 20 spots. First-team members each receive a $2,500 stipend, and will be featured along with second- and third-team members in an April issue of USA Today. Team members also are presented with medallions. Names of the students will be placed on the society's web site,


Other students selected for the 2004 All-Kansas Academic Team:

  • Allen County Community College: Kelci R. Adam, 20, Iola, secondary education in mathematics and sports medicine; Jeremy B. Hinkle, 19, Chanute, engineering.
  • Allen County Community College - Burlingame Campus: Irene M. Collazo, 33, Tecumseh, psychology; Joy K. Wray, 32, Topeka, nursing.
  • Barton County Community College: Kimberly A. Klug, 20, Odin, accounting; Matt P. Mazouch, 20, Great Bend, theater.
  • Brown Mackie College: Tamarr L. Andrews, 27, Kansas City, Mo., paralegal; Deborah Y. Hanson, 56, Rantoul, office technology and medical transcription; Theresa J. St. John, 30, Salina, accounting technology.
  • Butler County Community College: Wendy A. Dinkel, 19, Hoisington, pre-medicine; Jan E. Mead-Moehring, 35, Wichita, biology/anthropology.
  • Cloud County Community College: Amanda D. Brockelman, 19, Concordia, psychology; Garrett Lee Farha, 19, Concordia, business.
  • Cloud County Community College -- Geary County Campus: Laura H. Davey, 45, Junction City, history; Sarah Jayne Jarvis-White, 25, Herrington, psychology.
  • Coffeyville Community College: Traci L. Barrett, 19, Coffeyville, graphic design; Melanie J. Turner, 19, Coffeyville, communications.
  • Colby Community College: Brian J. Coon, 20, Goodland, biology; Shanda M. Draper, 20, Colby, social work.
  • Dodge City Community College: Alana L. Eccleston, 18, Fowler, secondary education; Lisa M. Morena, 19, Dodge City, music.
  • Fort Scott Community College: Meghan M. Tindle, 20, Fredonia, veterinary medicine.
  • Garden City Community College: Hieu M. Doan, 19 Garden City, nutritional science (pre-medicine); Debrah L. Frederick, 43, Liberal, early childhood education.
  • Highland Community College: Katie J. James, 19, Hiawatha, nutrition and exercise science; Brenton J. Jayatilaka, 19, Highland, youth ministry/psychology.
  • Hutchinson Community College: David Justin Bravi, 20, Hutchinson, criminal justice; Heather R. Taylor, 20, Hutchinson, biology.
  • Independence Community College: Dariya T. Plashchevska, 23, Independence, business; Shawna'de A. Smith, 30, Neodesha, education.
  • Johnson County Community College: Laura D. Haverkamp, 20, Olathe, elementary education/counseling; Valerie L. Templeton, 50, Olathe, computer information systems.
  • Kansas City Community College: Bobbie J. McClain, 48, Kansas City, social work; Lindsey K. Rogge, 19, Kansas City, computer networking and Microsoft certification.
  • Labette Community College: Phillip S. Jack III, 21, Edna, engineering; Tiffiny N. Leitneberger, 21, Girard, early education.
  • Neosho County Community College: Kimberly Oliphant, 20, Chanute, criminal justice; Ian M. Thompson, 19, Chanute, computer graphics (graphic design).
  • Pratt Community College: Lisa E. Coss, 19, Pratt, business; Kalesha L. Troyer, 19, Pratt, business administration.
  • Seward County Community College: Michelle L. Reed, 19, Liberal, pre-optometry; Timothy Erin Rush, 19, Liberal, liberal arts with an emphasis in business.