News & Events




Press Release



March 30, 2005

Cowley honors 30 employees for years of service


Thirty Cowley College employees were honored Tuesday afternoon for their years of service during a recognition ceremony in the Earle N. Wright Community Room inside the Brown Center.

Elvin Hatfield, who teaches courses in the Administration of Justice program, received a gift for 30 years of service. He began his employment at the college on Aug. 1, 1974.

Employees were honored in five-year increments.

Dr. Pat McAtee, Cowley president, introduced each employee. Several employees shared their most memorable moments while working at Cowley with their co-workers.

“I sincerely appreciate your dedication and service to the college,” McAtee said.

Awards are presented annually to employees who have worked five, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35 consecutive years.

This year’s award recipients:

30 years: Elvin Hatfield, Business and Service Technology Department, Administration of Justice instructor.













25 years: Joycelyn Goff, accounting coordinator; and Terri Hutchinson, admissions secretary.





20 years: Deb Nittler, Social Science Department instructor and assistant director of athletics; and Larry Swaim, purchasing coordinator.

15 years: Tammy Barnaby, coordinator of the testing and learning lab at the Workforce Development Center; Darren Burroughs, director of housing and assistant baseball coach; Marcia Cales, Natural Science Department secretary; Lynne Jordan, shipping and receiving clerk; and JoLynne Oleson, Business and Service Technology Department instructor.








10 years: Jody Arnett, administrative assistant to the vice president of administration; Connie Bonfy, director of institutional grants/Title III grant; Kim Carwile, Business and Service Technology Department, interpreter training instructor; Tony Crouch, vice president of business services; Pam Doyle, dean of student learning; Gary Gackstatter, Humanities Department instructor, director of instrumental music; Lois Sampson, Humanities Department instructor; and Michelle Schoon, Natural Science Department chair and instructor.




5 years: Heather Allen, director of Student Support Services; Mia Allen, web manager; Mark Britton, associate registrar; Olin Dovel, computer services technician; John Gage, facilities and transportation clerk; Rhoda MacLaughlin, director of library services; Greg Nichols, Natural Science Department instructor; Jafar Hashemi, Natural Science Department instructor; Bev Nittler, Student Support Services counselor; Roy Reynolds, student life counselor; Kathy Shepard, Talent Search Grant counselor; and Todd Shepherd, Social Science Department chair and instructor.