News & Events




Press Release



April 21, 2005

Large scholarship, student of year highlight Cowley awards banquet


Announcement of the first Jack Kent Cooke Scholarship recipient and the Student of the Year highlighted a busy night of awards Tuesday during Cowley College’s Celebration of Excellence, the honors and awards banquet held in the Wright Community Room inside the Brown Center.

Susan Hogue, a 43-year-old wife and mother of five, was announced as one of only 25 community college students nationwide to receive the prestigious Jack Kent Cooke Scholarship. The award is worth up to $30,000 per year. Hogue, who lives in Winfield and will graduate from Cowley in May, plans to transfer to either Southwestern College or Emporia State University.

Lory Turney, a sophomore business administration major from Arkansas City, was named Student of the Year for 2005. She was September 2004 Student of the Month. In October, Turney was crowned Queen Alalah. And in April, she was named first runner-up in the Outstanding Student of Arkansas City Award. She is the daughter of Larry and Angie Turney, and the granddaughter of Edna Faulkner of Arkansas City.

The eight students who were named Student of the Month throughout the 2004-2005 academic year were eligible for the Student of the Year Award. Others honored were Mark Gubichuk, Arkansas City, October 2004; Andrea Iman, Elkhart, November 2004; Whitney Jones, Arkansas City, December 2004; Travis Kliewer, Fairview, Okla., January 2005; Bronze Hill, Arkansas City (Dexter High School), February 2005; Amanda Hadicke, Arkansas City, March 2005; and Whitney Smith, Mulvane, April 2005.

Sponsors of Cowley clubs and organizations, academic department chairs, and several honorary awards also were presented during the evening.

Following is a list of students who were presented top awards. Some organizations chose not to present a top award.

  • Academic Civic Engagement through Service: Kenny Sultz, Arkansas City.
  • Act One Drama Club: (tie) Bronze Hill, Arkansas City (Dexter High School), Mark Gubichuk, Arkansas City, and Whitney Jones, Arkansas City.
  • Art Club: Jacob Seymore, Mulvane.
  • Black Student Union: Jeanna Watson, Arkansas City.
  • Campus Christian Fellowship: (tie) Andy Castaneda, Wellington, David Swartz, Augusta (Wellington High School), and Tiffanie Spencer, South Haven.
  • Chess Club: Thomas Felts, Winfield.
  • International Student Club: Priscilla De Souza, Brazil.
  • Journalism: Tara Vanderpool, Arkansas City.
  • Kansas National Educators Association: (tie) Sherri Titterington, Clearwater, Cameron Traxson, Cheney, and Lisa Youngers, Haysville (Clearwater High School).
  • Math and Science Club: (tie) Riley Stegman, Wichita (Campus High School) and A.J. Ybarra, Wellington.
  • Peers Advocating Wellness for Students: Brandon Burke, Newkirk.
  • Phi Beta Lambda: Holly Minkler, Winfield.
  • Tyger Tawk Communications Club: Alana Cervantes, Ponca City.
  • Vocal Music: Tiffanie Spencer, South Haven.

Academic Department Awards:

  • Business and Service Technology: Marni Erb, Mulvane.
  • Health Professions: Travis Morin, Winfield (Plainville High School).
  • Humanities: Tiffanie Spencer, South Haven.
  • Natural Science: Amanda Hadicke, Arkansas City.

Honorary Awards:

  • IMPACT Student of the Year: A.J. Ybarra, Wellington.
  • Phi Theta Kappa: Amanda Hadicke, Arkansas City and Kassey Van Gieson, Norwich.
  • Student Ambassadors (Arkansas City main campus): Tony Beach, Arkansas City.
  • Student of the Month Nominees: Tim Badley, Arkansas City; Cara Boswell, Cedar Vale (Sedan High School); Priscilla De Souza, Brazil; Tin Hinst, Croatia; Joel Kientz, Rose Hill; Tiffanie Spencer, South Haven; Megan Swanson, Arkansas City; Susanne Welshans, Caldwell; Morgan Williams, Dexter; and Kelly Zoglman, Mt. Hope (Garden Plain High School).