News & Events




Press Release



November 3, 2004

Thirty students initiated into math honor society at Cowley


Thirty students recited the oath and were officially initiated as members of Mu Alpha Theta during a ceremony Tuesday night in the Earle N. Wright Community Room on the campus of Cowley County Community College.

Mu Alpha Theta is the mathematics honor society. Initiation is based on academic success. To be eligible, students must have earned an “A” in College Algebra, and either an “A” or “B” in Trigonometry, Business Calculus, Calculus I, II and III, and Differential Equations.

Michelle Schoon, chair of Cowley’s Natural Science Department, gave the introduction and welcome and was the guest speaker.

Greg Nichols, an instructor in the Natural Science Department and Mu Alpha Theta sponsor, gave a brief history of the club and introduced the club officers. They are A.J. Ybarra, president; Aaron Warren, vice president; Annisa Shockey, secretary; and Riley Stegman, treasurer. The four students also serve as the officers for the Math and Science Club at the college. Membership in the Math and Science Club is open to any Cowley student and is not based on grades.

Pins and certificates were presented the 30 students.

Nichols said the major project for this year was the Human-I-Ties that raised funds to help preserve a portion of rain forest. He also said a fun trip was being planned to go to Wichita for Laser Tag.

Students initiated in fall 2004:

Dawn M. Albright, Maize; Billie C. Ball, Wichita; Timothy E. Bevan II, Wichita; James R. Brown, Wellington; Amanda N. Cless, Derby; Verona L. Deer, Red Rock, Okla.; Simeon J. DeGraaf, Mulvane; Andrea M. Fox, Wichita; Callista A. Harbin, Arkansas City; Mary J. Johnson, Oxford.

David T. Kerschen, Wichita; Michael J. Kitchen, Wichita; Kyle W. Lietzke, Wichita; Lucas D. Lott, Belle Plaine; Ariracha R. Mannon, Manhattan; Jessica M. McLinn, Wichita; David J. Mimbi, Wichita; Jill M. Norton, Wichita; Darla M. Nuzum, Wichita; Amy D. Parsons, Arkansas City.

Ian M. Rethmeier, Winfield; Jamie L. Rothgeb, Belle Plaine; Adam R. Schuetz, Holton; Alisa M. Smith, Wichita; Megan N. Swanson, Arkansas City; Emily E. Tedman, Mulvane; Bruce T. Vaughn, Derby; Aaron M. Warren, Geuda Springs; Susanne L. Welshans, Caldwell; Cody R. White, Arkansas City.