News & Events




Press Release



March 6, 2006

Cowley has successful first Fine Arts Day


Cowley College’s first ever Fine Arts Day was a huge success as 135 high school students from 24 high schools invaded the Cowley campus in Arkansas City on March 1.

The goal of the event was to showcase the college’s many fine arts programs, such as vocal and instrumental music, theatre, and art and computer graphics, to potential students.

Students had a chance to audition and/or share portfolios of their artwork. Student artwork was displayed and prizes were given in several different categories. Prizes included scholarships and cash prizes.

“I want to thank everyone who was involved in making this event move from a dream to a reality,” Cowley Vice President Sheree Utash said. “It was a team effort.”

All Prodigy Award winners who qualify following portfolio and academic review will receive a Cowley scholarship. All first place winners received a $50 cash prize, while the winner of Best of Show won a cash prize of $250 plus a full scholarship.

The Best of Show winners were Aubrey Nighswonger and Gavin Wartick of Rose Hill.

Prodigy Award winners:


Third place — Molly Malone, Derby

Second place — Steven Spicer, Wichita Northwest

First place — Bethany Keefer, Rose Hill


Honorable Mention – Jaye Moore, Rose Hill

Third place — Nishan Hovsepian, Arkansas City

Second place — Cayci Hunt, El Dorado

First place — Adam Bazil, Rose Hill; Sarah Banta, Arkansas City

Computer Art

Honorable Mention – Kyle Swint, Udall

Third place — Chelsea Borgman, Derby; Steven Spicer, Wichita Northwest

Second place — Adam Bazil, Rose Hill

First place — Matt Chase, Wichita Northwest


Third place — Brittani Forgey, Rose Hill

Second place — Amanda Hogue, Wichita Northwest

First place — DaNae Williams, Rose Hill


Third place — Cody Perkins, Winfield

Second place — Valerie Thomas,, Rose Hill

First place — Matt Chase, Wichita Northwest


Honorable Mention – Kailey Downs, Faith Academy

Honorable mention – Cayci Hunt, El Dorado

Third place — Megan Ewert, Wichita Northwest

Second place — Sarah Banta, Arkansas City; Rebecca Russell, Wichita Northwest

First place — Heather Wade, Rose Hill


Third place — Kris Nuss, Wellington; Laurel Johnson, Wellington

Second place — Cody Perkins, Winfield

First place — Gavin Wartick, Rose Hill


Third place — William Sherbon, Rose Hill

Second place — Tiffany Vo, Wichita Northwest

First place — Logan Wartick, Rose Hill

Product Design

Second place — Elise Hagood, Ponca City, OK

First place — Jeremy Merz, Ponca City, OK

Best of Show (Each wins a $250 cash prize)

2D Art — Aubree Nighswonger, Drawing, Rose Hill

3D Art — Gavin Wartick, Sculpture, Rose Hill