News & Events




Press Release



March 30, 2006

Cowley honors 28 employees for years of service



Twenty-eight Cowley College employees were honored Wednesday afternoon for their years of service during a recognition ceremony in the Earle N. Wright Community Room inside the Brown Center.

Pat Mauzey, lead cosmetology instructor; Wanda Shepherd, Social Science Department secretary; and Forest Smith, registrar, received a gift for 30 years of service.

Employees were honored in five-year increments.

Dr. Pat McAtee, Cowley president, introduced each employee.

“I would like to offer my appreciation and congratulations to those of you being recognized today,” McAtee said. “All of these years of service are valued and important to us. I appreciate all of you very much.”

Awards are presented annually to employees who have worked five, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35 consecutive years.

This year’s award recipients:

30 years: Pat Mauzey, lead cosmetology instructor; Wanda Shepherd, Social Science Department secretary; and Forest Smith, registrar.

25 years: Mike Crow, director of maintenance and energy management.

15 years: Beverly Grunder, Business, Computer and Information Technology department chair/instructor; Dan Squires, Industrial Technology Department instructor; Terri Morrow, dean of development and college relations; Sally Palmer, director of financial aid; Mindi Shriver, administrative assistant instructional office.

10 years: Tom Saia, director of athletics; Sue Saia, dean of student life; Diane Kelly, coordinator to development and college relations; Cliff Roderick, Industrial Technology Department instructor; Roxie Aguilar, library assistant.

5 years: Frank Arnold, Social Science Department instructor; Cindy Branscum, Allied Health Department lead MICT instructor; Marlys Cervantes, Humanities Department instructor; Uwe Conrad, Natural Science Department instructor; Judy Haynes, English specialist in the Impact Program; Sharon Hephner, Aviation Tech Center coordinator of student services; Denise Irwin, creative director; Brian Jackson, head men’s basketball coach; Marlys Nelson, administrative assistant to the dean of student learning; Stephen Butler, Humanities Department instructor; Shannon Massey, coordinator of alumni and development; Joanna Pryor, head volleyball coach; Cynthia Wesson, Humanities Department instructor; Tracey Williams, secretary, registrar’s office.