News & Events




Press Release



April 19, 2006

Cowley holds annual Honors and Awards Ceremony


A representative from each department at Cowley College honored students that have excelled during the 2005-06 academic year during the school’s annual Honors and Awards Ceremony held Tuesday evening in the Brown Center’s Wright Room.

Russell Wallace, a sophomore non-destructive testing major, was named Cowley’s Student of the Year. He is president of Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Student Government Association secretary, co-treasurer of the International Student Club, is a Student Ambassador, and is a member of the Math & Science Club and the Young Republicans.

Award recipients:

•Academic Civic Engagement through Service —Faith Berg, Lindsi Fulcher, Rachel McClure
•Act One Drama Club — Kelly Hedges, Jared McGuire
•Art Club — Kristofer Ripley, Jessica Robinson, Philip Roth
•Black Student Union — Veronica Anderson, Tamara McMillan, Lucero Murphy
•Campus Christian Fellowship — Adrian Snyder, Cameron Traxson, Russell Wallace
•Instrumental Music (piano) — Sarah Kientz
•International Student Club — Oyeba Abang, Fernanda Domingos, Julian Rios
•Journalism Club — Ashley Colburn, Jared McGuire, Jennifer Sarcher
•Kansas National Education Association — Nichole Bradford, Kacie Laha, Rachael McClure
•Mu Alpha Sigma Chi - Ark City campus — Ashley Bland, Riley Stegman, Russell Wallace
•Math and Science Club – Northern campuses — Tyler Hicks
•Phi Beta Lambda — Caleb DeGraaf, Alex Gottlob, Jerrod Ketchersid
•Returning Student Organization — Jordan Chalmers (Art), Rhonda Ross (Oxford).
•Tyger Tawk Communications Club — Geneva Arena, William Earls, Dearrington Lockhart
•Vocal Music — Megan Gechter
•Special Club Presentation — Ashleigh Ragan
•Allied Health Department — Matthew Creighton
•Business, Computer and Information Technology Department — Lindsi Fulcher
•Career and Technical Education Department — Billie Ball
•Humanities Department — Parisath Sopha
•Natural Science Department — Sarah Oestmann
•Social Science Department — Tabitha Smith
•Phi Theta Kappa — Ryan Belindo, Heather Julian
•Student Ambassadors - Northern Campuses – Destiney Anderson, Heather Dixon, LeAnn Duncan-Smith, Kasey Gaskill, Matthew Gumfory, Rhonda Taylor, Ryan Seddon, Shaye Waple
•Student Ambassadors - Ark City Campus – Ashley Bland, Brandon Burke, Danielle Craig, Alex Derby, Joseph Glenn, Kelly Hedges, Candace Hunt, Brandon May, Christina Mauzey, Addie Snyder, Cameron Traxson, Riley Stegman, Russsell Wallace
•Student Government Association — Ashley Bland, Caralee Boswell, Sarah Courey, Candace Hunt, Russell Wallace
•Student of the Year — Russell Wallace