News & Events




Press Release



October 12, 2005

Sixteen students earn spots as CC Singers


Sixteen Cowley College students auditioned and earned coveted spots on the CC Singers, the college’s show choir, for the 2005-2006 academic year.

Connie Donatelli, director of vocal music, directs the group.

“I’ve got a great group of singers who are working very hard,” Donatelli said. “They know how important it is to represent the college with this group. It should be a fun year.”

The group is a highly visible and entertaining performance ensemble. Its first fall performance is Oct. 25 when the group travels to Wichita to sing for Adventures in Learning. The goal of the East Wichita Shepherd Center is to develop enrichment programs for active senior citizens.

“We were invited by Walt Meyer, the retired dean of fine arts at Wichita State,” Donatelli said.

The CC Singers will perform at the East Heights Methodist Church, 4407 E. Douglas. The performance, which is not open to the public, will take place from 12:35-1:15 p.m.

“We’re excited about our show,” Donatelli said.

The show is titled “Greatest Hits of the One-Name Wonders.” The group will be singing songs from 1980s bands like Heart, Abba, Journey and Survivor.

“It’s very eclectic,” Donatelli said. “It’s not really an 80s show. It will be a lot of fun.”

Lana Sleeper, former Danceline coach at Cowley, choreographed the show for the CC Singers.

The first on-campus performance by the group is Nov. 17, which is Senior Day. It is the annual Jazz Band/CC Singers concert at 7:30 p.m. in the Robert Brown Theatre.

The CC Singers also have been invited to perform at Jefferson Elementary School in Arkansas City on Nov. 22.
“The music teacher called me and is desperately wanting to do something to get her boys fired up about singing,” Donatelli said.

The CC Singers:

Amanda-Marie Black, Arkansas City; Kyle Chamberland, Sedan; Sarah Coury, Arkansas City; Dustin Dawson, Wellington; Laura Durham, Arkansas City; Karrah Fish, Valley Center; Megan Gechter, Scott City; Ashley Jefferies, Belle Plaine; Logan Geist, Scott City; Joey Glenn, Wellington; Jade Hillestad, Salina; Andrew Hogan, Winfield; Jared McGuire, Arkansas City; Junior Navarro, Belle Plaine; Janea Reber, Anthony; Aubrey Slief, Elkhart.