News & Events




Press Release



April 17, 2007

Board approves two new policies


Cowley College’s Board of Trustees approved a pair of policies during its regular monthly meeting Monday night. The Board approved the Attendance and Classwork policy along with the Academic Code of Conduct policy.

The Attendance and Classwork policy states at the beginning of each grading period, the instructor shall publicize his/her class policies. Excessive absences may result in the student not meeting the competencies of the course. Behavioral or disruptive issues may result in the student being withdrawn from the class at the request of the instructor by the Registrar. It is the student’s responsibility to withdraw from the course for reasons of academic performance through the Registrar’s Office.

The Academic Code of Conduct policy states Cowley College is committed to instilling in its students a high level of academic integrity. Integrity in the classroom is a definite expectation. Students who compromise the integrity of the academic process are subject to disciplinary action by the college.

A violation of academic honesty includes, but is not limited to: plagiarism, cheating, fabrication and falsification, multiple submission, misuse of academic materials, and complicity in academic dishonesty. An XF grade may be given to students that violate the Academic Code of Conduct.

In other matters, the Board:

1. Saw President Dr. Pat McAtee present Alexis Johnson with a gift for being named April Student of the Month.

2. Heard from director of theatre Scott MacLaughlin, who recognized technical director of theatre Jamison Rhoads and Cowley sophomore Brittany Richerson for awards they received from the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival. Both received awards for their work on Cowley’s production of “Les Miserables School Edition”.

3. Vice president of student and academic affairs Sheree Utash informed the board of the four awards the college received at the 22nd Annual Admissions Advertising Awards. Cowley won the Silver Award for its fall class schedule, and received Merit Awards for its admissions events poster, new logo/letterhead, and class catalog. Utash praised the work done by Cowley creative director Denise Irwin.

4. Dr. McAtee acknowledged the accomplishments of the three faculty members at Cowley’s Aviation Tech Center that received FAA Diamond Awards. The FAA also awarded the facility with a Diamond Award.

5. Approved the shower renovation in the Storbeck Dorm to begin this summer.

6. Viewed a summer enrollment report that indicates as of April 10, full-time equivalency was 611, which is slightly down from this time last year.

7. Approved trip expenses for 10 students and Phi Beta Lambda sponsor Bev Grunder to attend the Phi Beta Lambda National Conference in Chicago, June 22-27.

8. Accepted the resignation of JoLynne Stalnaker as instructor in the Business, Computer and Information Technology Department, effective at the end of the academic year; accepted the resignation of David Bostwick as director of journalism and instructor in the Humanities Department, effective at the end of the academic year; accepted a letter of resignation from Melissa Trueblood as administrative assistant at SSEC, effective April 13; accepted a letter of retirement from Peggy Williams as academic advisor for talent search, effective July 1.

9. Approved the hiring of Gena Stevens as instructional support at SSEC, effective May 1; approved the hiring of Yaphett King as assistant men’s basketball coach, effective March 19; approved the hiring of Kenneth J. Turner II as assistant men’s basketball coach, effective March 19; approved the hiring of Katrina Colwell as assistant women’s basketball coach, effective April 5; approved the hiring of Dianne Flickinger as student support services (IMPACT) English specialist/advisor, effective July 16; approved the hiring of Shane Hilt as administrative assistant at SSEC, effective May 1.

10. Announced a formal resolution to non-renew the employment contracts of Rhett Joy, Richard Mehuron, and Rejeana Young.

11. Held an executive session to discuss non-elected personnel and property acquisition.