News & Events




Press Release



April 27, 2007

Loe named Cowley's Mr. Cinderfella


Loe named Cowley's Mr. Cinderfella

With 15 Cowley College male contestants competing in the 19th annual Mr. Cinderfella Pageant Thursday in the Robert Brown Theatre, James Loe took home the coveted title.

Loe impressed the judges in all three categories, which included beachwear/leisurewear, talent, and eveningwear.

Loe dressed as a toga clad Olympic god being fed grapes by the goddess escorts as he was wheeled on stage on top of a utility cart during the beachwear/leisurewear category, and then wowed the crowd with his wonderfully executed Evolution of Dance for the talent portion of the show. He finishing up in eveningwear in a black suit and red-trimmed fedora.

“James worked very hard at being strong in each of the categories,” Mr. Cinderfella director Dejon Ewing said. “His sincerity was well-received as he expressed his gratitude for what Cowley has meant to him as well as stating his admiration for James Franklin, last year’s winner. He was an enthusiastic winner—it was fun to watch his reaction to hearing his name called out as Mr. CinderFella 2007.”

Along with being named Mr. Cinderfella, Loe also was named the winner of the talent category. Sean Rethmeier was the winner of the beachwear/leisurewear category, while William Brantley was the eveningwear winner.

Shawn Ming finished as the first runner-up, while Joe Lauer was the second runner-up. Alexie Smith and Zach Whitener finished third and fourth, respectively.

The money raised from the event goes towards fund-raisers for Cowley College’s Act One and funds for next year’s Mr. Cinderfella show.

Keeping with the tradition of Miss Kansas serving as emcee, Michelle Walthers led the contestants through the evening.

The contestants were: Rashad Parker, Sean Rethmeier, Alexie Smith, Aaron Loehr, Danny Mouangdy, Kyle Chamberland, William Brantley, Nathan Cottingham, Joe Harvey, Sage Swaney, Blake Mackey, Shawn Ming, Joe Lauer, Zach Whitener, and Loe.

Other winners were:

  • Best eyes — Danny Mouangdy.
  • Wanna Take Him Home — Blake Mackey.
  • Best Smile — Joe Lauer.
  • Mr. Personality — Rashad Parker.