News & Events




Press Release



January 17, 2008

Four Cowley students named Kansas Community College Scholars


Kansas will salute 46 community college scholars for their academic accomplishments February 14 in Topeka during the Thirteenth Annual Phi Theta Kappa Honors Luncheon.

Jackie Hutchinson and Elisha Swope from Cowley College’s Arkansas City campus and Keisha Brooks and Lisa Burns from Cowley’s Wichita campus are among the students that will be honored.

Keisha BrooksLisa BurnsJackie HutchinsonElisha Swope












The Luncheon will be held at the Ramada Inn Hotel in Topeka in conjunction with February's Kansas Board of Regents meeting. Those in attendance will hear from Mark Parkinson, Lt. Governor for the state of Kansas.

Representing 38 towns and cities, the state's 19 community colleges, and a private two-year college, these scholars have been named to the 2007-08 All-Kansas Academic Team, sponsored by the international headquarters of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society, the Kansas Association of Community College Trustees, and the Kansas Council of Community College Presidents.

Phi Theta Kappa is the honor society for students attending community and two-year colleges. Membership is based on high grade point averages and other criteria, with members focusing on scholastic achievement and service to community and campus. The 46 individuals are part of a statewide student body of more than 91,000 people enrolled in more than 692,000 credit hours taken annually at the 19 Kansas community colleges.

"We consider this a very worthwhile endeavor for all of the Kansas community colleges to come together and celebrate the achievements of the state's outstanding students," said Ruth Randall, a Johnson County Community College associate professor/honors program facilitator who serves as Kansas Region Coordinator for the Honor Society. "These students are our finest not only in the academic sphere, but also in terms of service and citizenship."

Each scholar was selected by his or her own community college for the annual statewide academic team, and each scholar also is a nominee for the 2006-07 All-USA Academic Team, sponsored by the newspaper USA Today, Phi Theta Kappa, and the American Association of Community Colleges.

Students selected for the 2007-08 All-Kansas Academic Team are as follows:

  • Allen County Community College-Burlingame — Tracy Woodworth, Osage City.
  • Allen County Community College-Iola — Tina Hale, Iola; Sarah Manhart, Grainfield.
  • Barton County Community College— Elizabeth Davis, Ellinwood; Jonathan Pike, Great Bend.
  • Brown Mackie College – Lenexa Campus— Ann Johnston, Lenexa.
  • Brown Mackie College – Salina Campus— Johanna Chamberlin, Salina; Jay Hall, Salina.
  • Butler Community College – Andover Campus— Christy Bush, Wichita; Catherine “Katie” Roach, Derby.
  • Butler Community College – El Dorado Campus, Eric Fox, El Dorado; Shelby Sobba, Richmond.
  • Cloud County Community College -Geary County Campus — Walter Jarnot, Milford; Marcus Zumbrunn, Wakefield.
  • Coffeyville Community College — Ashley Ofuokwu, Wichita; Shanna Ward, Coffeyville.
  • Colby Community College — Rachel LeFlore, Colby; Betty Rotich, Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Cowley County Community College - Arkansas City Campus —  Jackie Hutchinson, Arkansas City; Elisha Swope, Arkansas City.
  • Cowley County Community College - Wichita Campus — Keisha Brooks, Maize; Lisa Burns, Wichita.
  • Dodge City Community College — Robert “Cochise” Fant, Dodge City; Lars-Fredrik Haakonsen, Norway.
  • Fort Scott Community College — Anna Bahr, Fort Scott; Casidey Clay, Fort Scott.
  • Garden City Community College — Amalee Dykes, Leavenworth *Highland Community College — Jessica Sutherland, Troy; Shayle Williams, McPherson.
  • Hutchinson Community College — Elizabeth Mora, Hutchinson; Jared Unrau, Newton.
  • Independence Community College — Alex Miceli, Xiao Dan Wang, Independence.
  • Johnson County Community College — Brent Haverkamp, Olathe;  Viktoryia Schnose, Lenexa.
  • Kansas City Kansas Community College — Harry Kebianyor, Kansas City; Nicole Turner, Kansas City.
  • Labette Community College — Caitlin Eck, Parsons; Linseh Walker, Oswego.
  • Neosho County Community College – Chanute Campus — Melanie Dillmon, Chanute; Joe Gerant, Topeka.
  • Neosho County Community College – Ottawa Campus — Jena Hayes, Olathe.
  • Pratt Community College — Toni Herman, Herington; Ashley Nabor, Kinsley.
  • Seward County Community College — Jacob Elder, Hooker, OK Erica Herrera, Lubbock, TX.

Each student will receive a proclamation issued by Gov. Kathleen Sebelius, an educational scholarship of $300, and an academic medallion.  The Kansas Board of Regents universities and Washburn University have provided scholarships in the amount of $1,000 for the All-Kansas Team recipients who transfer to their institutions.

The students will go to the Kansas Statehouse prior to the luncheon, where they will be given a tour and meet lawmakers.  The honored students are bringing parents, spouses, children, grandchildren, or grandparents to watch as they receive recognition.

Since 1991, Phi Theta Kappa, USA Today, and the American Association of Community Colleges have sponsored the national All-USA Academic Team Program. The Kansas program is an affiliate, and the Kansas students are all nominees for the national honor.

This year, more than 1,600 students nationwide will compete for places on the first, second and third All-USA teams. First team members each receive a $2,500 stipend, and will be featured along with second and third team members in USA Today. Team members are also presented with medallions. Names of the students will be placed on the society's Web site,