News & Events




Press Release



April 18, 2008

Cowley selects next year's ambassadors, Strickland named Ambassador of the Year for 2007-08


Kayla StricklandTwenty-four students have been selected to represent Cowley College as Student Ambassadors for the 2008-2009 academic year.

Admissions director Ben Schears said it was tough to trim the list of students to 24 from the nearly 100 who were nominated.

“It’s hard when you have to turn down some really good students,” Schears said. “We feel we have selected a good group of ambassadors.”

Ambassadors are required to work two hours per week in the Admissions Office, performing various tasks, including giving campus tours, or making photocopies. They also are required to work special events such as New Student Orientation, Senior Day, Phone-a-Thon, Principal-Counselor Day, and Cowley’s College Planning Conference.

For the first time ever, Cowley selected three incoming freshman to be ambassadors. All three were top students at their high school.

Schears said the reason for this was so the freshmen can be trained with the other ambassadors and then stay on and train new ambassadors the following year.

Also, Kayla Strickland (pictured) was recently recognized as Cowley’s Ambassador of the Year for the 2007-08 academic year.

“She’s always reliable, cheerful, and willing to pitch in and help when needed,” Schears said.

Students chosen for the 2008-2009 academic year are listed in alphabetical order.

Jaclyn Balzer, Lynlea Bartlett, Brianna Byers, Blythe Colquhoun, Emily Crain, Elizabeth Davidson, Kelsey Ford, Tara Glaser, Tommy Govert, Rusty Gray, Chris Loftin, Willy Lucero, Lauren McGuigan, Nate Newland, Isaiah Owens, Missy Patterson, Crystal Rausch, Alicia Rayl, Andy Rouse, Boomer Saia, Amy Slane, Dori Stevens, John Windle, and Andy Petz.