News & Events




Press Release



August 29, 2007

Cowley starts up Multicultural Scholars Program


Cowley starts up Multicultural Scholars ProgramThanks to the University of Kansas’ Multicultural Scholars Program being awarded a three-year, $515,157 U.S. Department of Education FIPSE (Fund for the Improvement of Post-Secondary Education) grant, KU was able to expand the MSP to three Kansas community colleges in 2007. Cowley was one of the three community colleges asked to be part of this grant through KU.

Cowley was chosen along with Kansas City Community College and Donnelly College in Kansas City.
The program is designed to develop a new generation of leaders, while helping prepare the students for college and keep them on track during the school year. The program also addresses academic, social, and personal aspects of the student experience and will help them maximize the benefits of their undergraduate years.

There are six students in Cowley’s Multicultural Scholars Program. Each participant in the program had to go through an application and interview process. They then signed a contract agreeing to keep up their grade point average and participation in class.

Marlys Cervantes and Amy McWhirt serve as co-directors of the program and meet with the students individually and as a group, once a month. The students also take part in a cultural event each month, such as going to Exploration Place in Wichita for a cultural exhibition in September.

“Amy and I were delighted to be asked to be a part of the program,” Cervantes said. “They are a great group of young people. This is another avenue for them to have another mentor on campus to help them reach their goals.”

Students in Cowley’s Multicultural Scholars Program and their families participated in a kick-off luncheon held at Sirloin Stockade in Arkansas City on Saturday. The group will attend a large formal banquet at the University of Kansas on Jan. 19, 2008.

Those pictured are, from left, Pablo Fuentes, Janee Gabbard, Immanuel Thompson, Ashley Williams, Robert Young and Isiah Lykes.