News & Events




Press Release



February 27, 2009

Cowley inducts 30 new members into Mu Alpha Theta organization


A ceremony was held Thursday evening in Cowley College’s Earle N. Wright Community Room to induct 30 new members into the school’s Mu Alpha Theta organization.

Attending the induction were new members, Alicia Ballard, Aaron Brooks, Cori Brooks, Emily Crain, Darci Cramer, Morgan Kelley, Darci Mann, and Zachary Tasker.

Sue Saia, Cowley College vice president of student affairs, was the speaker for the evening. Math and Science Club co-sponsors, April Nittler and Scott Layton, hosted the event.

Mu Alpha Theta is an asset to a student's record and resume. It is a way to recognize capable math students, as well as to enhance the mathematics instruction of the institution.

Mu Alpha Theta inductees automatically become members of Math and Science Club, Mu Alpha Sigma Chi. Its major purpose is to promote greater interest in mathematics and give recognition for excellence in mathematics performance by community college students.

Membership in Mu Alpha Theta is limited to those students who have excelled in mathematics and met the minimum standard for membership.