News & Events




Press Release



March 9, 2009

Cowley students qualify to attend National PBL Leadership Conference


National PBL Leadership ConferenceParticipating in the Kansas Phi Beta Lambda 58th annual State Leadership Conference at Colby Community College on February 26-27, seven of Cowley College’s nine PBL students in attendance qualified to attend the National PBL Leadership Conference in Anaheim, CA June 20-23. 

Beverly Grunder, Cowley College PBL advisor was proud of the PBL member’s accomplishments. 
“It is a privilege serving as the Cowley College PBL advisor and having the opportunity to work with the students,” Grunder said. “I am so proud of them and their accomplishments. They represent Cowley College well especially when they are competing against students from four-year colleges and universities.”

Cowley College student’s awards include:

  • Elizabeth Smith, Rock, KS – Sophomore
     1st - Accounting Principles
    1st - Database Design and Application
    1st - Web Site Development
  • Crystal McGuire, Wichita, KS – Sophomore 
    2nd - Business Communications
  • Richard Gould, Douglas, KS – Sophomore
    1st - Human Resource Management
    2nd - Computer Concepts
    2nd - Help Desk
  • Melissa Barr, Arkansas City, KS – Sophomore 
    1st - International Business 
    2nd - Cyber Security
  • Brandi Berntsen, Conway Spring, KS – Freshman 
    2nd - Word Processing
  • Team of Mary Misasi, Winfield, KS – Freshman and Phuong Huynh, Wichita, KS – Freshman 
    1st - Hospitality Management 
    2nd - Small Business Management Plan

Other colleges participating at the 58th annual State Leadership Conference were: Butler Community College, Central Christian College at McPherson, Colby Community College, Emporia State University, Kansas State University, Labette Community College and Washburn University.

Pictured: back row from left, Richard Gould, Janessa Gould, Melissa Barr, Christopher Hall, and PBL advisor Beverly Grunder.
Front row, from left, Mary Misasi, Brandi Berntsen, Crystal McGuire, Elizabeth Smith, and Phuong Huynh.