News & Events




Press Release



April 1, 2009

Phi Theta Kappa holds induction ceremony


PTK induction ceremony

Sixty nine students recently joined the Alpha Gamma Upsilon Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Cowley College. Several new members attended the induction ceremony on Sunday in the Earle N. Wright Community Room of the Brown Center.

Emily Crain, PTK president of the Arkansas City campus, welcomed the inductees, family and friends and gave some background about the International Honor Society of two-year colleges.

Marlys Cervantes, Cowley College Humanities Department Chair, served as the speaker for the event. Phi Theta Kappa officers from the Arkansas City and Mulvane campuses conducted the induction ceremony, while Traci Hall provided the music for the event.

Ark City advisor, Melinda Neal, looks forward to working with the new members of PTK and was grateful for the support of the college’s administration that attended the induction ceremony.

Students inducted into Phi Theta Kappa were: Stevi Anaya, Arun Ball, Quinton Bane, Kelsey Barger, Danielle Benbrook, Natalie Benton, Gabrielle Blanchard, Lloyd Bruce-Burgess, Cecilia Burley, Taylor Cantillon, Ryan Clark, Britney Cox, Darcy Cramer, Allie Crow, Cynthia Dameron, Kimberly Dooley, Suzanme Fairbanks, Wrylie Finkle, Jacque Fisher, Shannon Franz, Melissa Gay-Roberts, Nicole Gillespie, Janessa Gould, Elton Gove, Tasha Griffin, Teila Hartman, Richard Hatter, James Hobbs, Troy Hutson, Jennifer Hutton, Phuong Huynh, Jamie Hyle, Danielle Jackson, Jennifer Jensen, Allie Little, Aubrey Lyman, Meagan Mason, Steven Maxwell, William McKown, Andrew Meng, Josh Metzinger, Sarah Montgomery, Danielle Napier, Alison Nittler, Taylor Oliver, William Pirlot, Zac Price, Kelsey Rains, Robin Ray, Ashton Richardson, Elizabeth Ripperda, Sarah Rodgers, Nitasha Rodriguez, Amanda Russell, Lucas Smith, Matthew Smith, Mary Sook, Ashley Spencer, Nichole Stewart, Breayle Tackett, Samantha Thieme, Cheryl Thompson, Brent Turner, Victoria Upshaw, Robin VanDeest, James Walling, Mitchell Wright, Emily Zerger.