News & Events




Press Release



October 14, 2008

Cowley College to hold Candidate Forum on Oct. 30


With Election Day nearing, Cowley College student organizations, the CC Young Democrats and the Cowley College Republicans, will host a Candidate Forum with area state representatives Oct. 30 in the Earle N. Wright Community Room located on the Arkansas City campus.

Candidates in the contested state races, or their representatives, will attend the forum, which will run from 1:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. The Candidate Forum will follow the 2008 Cowley County Economic Forum, which will run earlier that day from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.

The public is invited to the Candidate Forum and there is no charge to attend the event.

Each candidate will have one minute to give an introduction, and then answer two questions. Candidates will then answer a question picked from an audience member.

Charlee Wilson, Cowley College coordinator of tutoring, serves as the sponsor of the Cowley College Republicans.

“This is a good chance for the community to come on campus and take in a candidate forum that is student driven,” Wilson said.

Marvis Gaddie, secretary in the Business/Computer and Information Technology Department, and Frank Arnold, Social Science Department instructor, are co-sponsors of the CC Young Democrats.

“I think it is great we have students that are interested in politics in their community and have an interest in their future because some of the decisions the state representatives make will affect their jobs and taxes,” Gaddie said.

Candidates that will be in attendance or have a representative at the forum are:
Kansas House of Representatives District 78 — Ed Trimmer, Democrat; John Whittington, Republican.
Kansas House of Representatives District 79 — Gene Burr, Democrat; Kasha Kelley, Republican.
Kansas Senate District 32 — Greta Goodwin, Democrat; Steve E. Abrams, Republican.
County Commission District 2 — Gary H. Wilson, Democrat; Bob Voegele, Republican.
County Commission District 3 — Carmelita Clarkson, Democrat; Alan Groom, Republican.