News & Events



Press Release



January 20, 2010

Cowley graduate running for commissioner of Kansas Soybean Commission


The Kansas Department of Agriculture recently announced that ballots to elect commissioners to the state's five commodity commissions—corn, grain sorghum, soybeans, sunflowers and wheat—have been mailed to registered voters in districts seven, eight and nine, which make up the eastern third of the state. Robert Haselwood, a 1974 graduate of Cowley College, is on the ballot for commissioner of the Kansas Soybean Commission in district eight.

Haselwood, who lives in Berryton and grows corn and soybeans in Shawnee County, currently serves on the Kansas Soybean Commission and is a member of the Kansas Corn Growers Association and Kansas Soybean Association.

Along with earning an associate’s degree from Cowley College, Haselwood also is a graduate of the Kansas Agricultural and Rural Leadership class.

District eight includes Anderson, Chase, Coffey, Douglas, Franklin, Geary, Johnson, Linn, Lyon, Miami, Morris, Osage, Shawnee and Wabaunsee counties. 

The names of candidates-elect will be announced in mid-March and the elected will take office April 1. Elected commissioners serve three-year terms.