News & Events



Press Release



March 24, 2010

Cowley graduate elected to the Kansas Soybean Commission


The Kansas Department of Agriculture recently announced the names of farmers from the eastern third of the state who were elected to the state’s five commodity commissions—corn, grain sorghum, soybeans, sunflowers and wheat. Robert Haselwood, a 1974 graduate of Cowley College, was elected to the Kansas Soybean Commission.

Haselwood, who lives in Berryton and grows corn and soybeans in Shawnee County, is also a member of the Kansas Corn Growers Association and Kansas Soybean Association.

Along with earning an associate’s degree from Cowley College, Haselwood also is a graduate of the Kansas Agricultural and Rural Leadership class.

Ballots were cast by the Kansas grain commodity growers between January 15 and March 1 and were counted at the Kansas Department of Agriculture during March. The newly elected commissioners will take office April 1 and will serve for three years.