News & Events



Press Release



March 29, 2010

Cowley AEC teams shine at Eastern Regional


Cowley College’s Academic Excellence Challenge teams competed in the Eastern Regional meet this past Saturday at Allen County Community College. Both teams scored more per round than at any other meet this year and were led by the Cowley “A” team finishing unbeaten at 7-0.

The “A” team, which was made up of sophomores Jake Fletcher and Aaron Brooks along with freshmen Marcus Whitson and Stefny Cabrera, finished first among the eight teams at the competition.

The “B” team of freshmen Caleb Griffin, Carly Brock, and Peter Onelio went just 1-6 but continued to show improvement.

Cowley AEC sponsor Greg Nichols was pleased with the performance of both teams, especially the “A” team going unbeaten.

Nichols said Brooks came through at a crucial time when the “A” team was tied with Coffeyville and he buzzed in to get the final question of the round to break the tie. Cowley subsequently got the bonus questions for a 240-200 win. 

Cabrera, who had her best round of the year, launched Cowley into another win by answering five tossups in one round.  While, Fletcher was steady and strong all the way through the day. Whitson served as team captain for the day and was consistent and had one of his best days of the year.

“I think all of the team did exceptionally well in this competition,” Nichols said. “Both groups were excited when we left.”

Cowley’s AEC teams will now prepare for the state competition, which will take place April 23-24 in Salina at the Kansas State  University campus. 

“We should have some exciting competitions with some of the west teams as well since Garden City went 5-0 in their region,” Nichols said. “This is a fun group to work with, they are exciting to watch and the team competes internally to better themselves. We have a chance to have a strong finish, but as with anything we must finish.”

Along with Cowley, other schools at the meet were: Coffeyville, Allen County, Johnson County, Kansas City, and Neosho County.