News & Events



Press Release



April 23, 2010

Misialek takes home coveted Mr. Cinderfella title


Cinderfella 2010

Helping the Tiger baseball team defeat Kansas City earlier in the day, Cowley College sophomore B.J. Misialek headed over from the baseball stadium to the Robert Brown Theatre, where he capped his busy day by being named Cowley’s Mr. Cinderfella.

“This is unbelievable, it was 2 ½ hours of absolute fun,” Misialek said.

Misialek, who was one of 15 contestants vying to be named Mr. Cinderfella, impressed the judges in all three categories, which included beach/leisurewear, talent, and eveningwear.

For the talent portion Misialek performed a parody of a song from the movie Willy Wonka & the chocolate Factory, while dressed as Willy Wonka. The performance was a hit with the audience.

“Honestly, when I woke up this morning I didn’t think the idea was very funny,” Misialek said. “I thought the words were clever but I wondered if anybody would laugh.”

Shane Parsons, who was the eveningwear winner, finished as the first runner-up, while Charles Fall was the second runner-up and was named Mr. Personality. Isbek Salinas was the third runner-up, and Aaron Brooks, the winner of the talent portion of the event, finished fourth.

Peter Onelio took home the prize for best eyes and was also the beach/leisure wear winner.

“They all did a knock out job,” Theatre director Scott MacLaughlin said. “I thought B.J. did a great job and really any of them would have been an excellent winner.”

The money raised from the event goes towards fund-raisers for Cowley College’s Act One and funds for next year’s Mr. CinderFella Pageant. Boomer Saia, who won last year’s Mr. CinderFella title was on hand for the event.

Keeping with the tradition of Miss Kansas serving as emcee, Becki Ronen led the contestants through the evening.

The contestants were: Aaron Brooks, Peter Fairchild, Charles Fall, Jake Fletcher, Clinton Haas, Mitch Hoover, Bert Hutson, Joey Kendrick, B.J. Misialek, Pete Onelio, Shane Parsons, Caprest Rhone, Dayton Rodrigues, Isbek Salinas, and Mitchell Wright.

Other winners were:

  • Wanna Take Him Home — Dayton Rodrigues
  • Best Smile — Caprest Rhone