News & Events



Press Release



September 25, 2009

Finalists named for Queen Alalah


Queen Alalah FinalistsAfter four days of online voting, the following five women were selected by Cowley College students, faculty, staff, and administration as finalists for Queen Alalah LXXVIII, to be crowned during the annual Coronation at 8 p.m. Oct. 30.

In alphabetical order: Erin Burroughs, Arkansas City; Aubrey Denney,  Newton; Alison Nittler, Arkansas City; Dange’ Sanders, Arkansas City; and Valerie White, Arkansas City.

The Coronation will take place in the Robert Brown Theatre inside the Brown Center for Arts, Sciences and Technology on Cowley’s Arkansas City campus. Persons attending the Queen’s Coronation will vote to determine the next Queen Alalah.

The Coronation is part of the annual fall celebration called Arkalalah, an Indian word meaning “good times.” A complete list of Arkalalah activities will be available within the coming weeks.

There were 316 votes cast to determine the five finalists.