News & Events




Press Release



February 22, 2011


PTK students represent Cowley at honors luncheon

Recognized for being named to the All-Kansas Academic Team, four Cowley College students were ptkhonored at a luncheon held at the Ramada Inn in Topeka on Thursday.

Fifty-one students were named to the All-Kansas Academic Team for community and junior colleges. Students from Kansas two-year colleges were named to this year’s team in recognition of academic achievement, leadership and community service.

The team is sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society, an honor society for two-year institutions, the Kansas Association of Community College Trustees and the presidents of the state’s community colleges.

Students were nominated by their respective college and are now eligible for the All-USA Academic Team, sponsored by the American Association of Community Colleges, Phi Theta Kappa, USA Today and Coca-Cola.

Representing Cowley College were Jordan Lukert and Claudia Sotelo from the Arkansas City campus, and Roberta Anis and Justin Balmer from the Mulvane center.

“Our inductees always reinforce the notion that Cowley is a great home for students,” Cowley College president Dr. Patrick J. McAtee said. “I am always impressed with their adoration for our teachers and coaches. It is also refreshing that they all go on from Cowley and become successful in life.”

Each honoree was introduced and the president of the college awarded them an honorary medallion, certificate and a stipend to be used at the institution of his/her choice.

Attending the luncheon from Cowley College were president, Dr. Patrick J.  McAtee; vice president of academic affairs, Slade Griffiths; vice president of student affairs, Sue Saia; as well as Board of Trustees member, Ron Godsey.  Phi Theta Kappa sponsor Ryan Doom also attended the event.