News & Events




Press Release



October 27, 2010

Concert Choir and CC Singers provide �An Evening of Music�


concertPerforming its first concert of the semester, the Cowley College Concert Choir and CC Singers presented “An Evening of Music” to a large crowd at its Fall Vocal Concert held Tuesday in the Robert Brown Theatre.

The concert was performed under the direction of director of vocal music, Connie Donatelli. Dr. Gloria Tham served as an accompanist on piano, while Jennifer Blatchford provided the choreography for the CC Singers performance.

“It feels so great to have our first concert of the year under our belt,” Donatelli said. “The students worked so hard in preparation in both the Concert Choir and CC Singers and I am so proud of their accomplishment last night.”

The Concert Choir performed This Moment (words and music by Mark Hayes); Tango to Evora (music by Loreena McKennitt, arrangement by Jon Washburn); Jueogo a que me quemo (traditional Colombian, arrangement by Julian Gomez Giraldo); Flower of Beauty (music by John Clements); If Music Be the Food of Love (music by David C. Dickau); and Nothin’ Gonna Stumble My Feet (music by Greg Gilpin).

After the Choir’s breathtaking performance, the CC Singers concluded the program with their choreographed show “Remembering the Rat Pack”, a medley of tunes made popular back in the late 1950’s thru the mid 1960’s by the team of entertainers, Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, and Sammy Davis, Jr., know as the “Rat Pack, but in recent years has been brought back in fashion by Canadian born singer, Michael Buble.

The instrumental combo featured Dr. Gloria Tham on keyboard; Josh Fleig on bass guitar; Chad Buttram on drums; Caleb Johnston on guitar; Kelley Reynolds on trumpet; and Dan Byers on saxophone.

Members of the Concert Choir are: Jacklynn Anderson, Katie Arnett, Brian Blaine, Carly Brock, Aaron Brooks, Parker Church, Jessica Coldwell, Brooke Cullum, Rachel Curtiss, Corbett Dalton, Alexis Denoncourt, Devin Dice, Deborah Dickey, Amy Dunlap, Peter Fairchild, Lydia Farley, Shaelynn French, Jacob Guiot, Anne Harmon, Ashlee Henning, Aaron Kucharik, Clayton Lupfer, Titus Massey, Mason McCray, Whitnie Means, Lauren Miller, Taryn Miller, Dylan Muilenburg, Rebecca Munoz, Asa Muntz, Michael Norem, Jimmie Norman, Raven Ortiz, Joshua Scheuermann, Angela Shockey, Travis Spangler, Jade Sparks, Kalon Steinaway, Bryce Sund, Lindsey Thomas, Jillian Turner, Alli Walls, William Wegele, Amanda Westerman, Kyle White, Andrea Workman, and Madison Zimmerman.

Members of the CC Singers are: Aaron Brooks, Jessica Coldwell, Alexis Denoncourt, Amy Dunlap, Shaelynn French, Anne Harmon, Aaron Kucharik, Whitnie Means, Dylan Muilenburg, Jimmie Norman, Joshua Scheuermann, Jade Sparks, Bryce Sund, William Wegele, Kyle White, and Andrea Workman.

Fleig will lead the Jazz Band and Guitar Ensemble Concert, which will be held Nov. 2 at 7 p.m. inside the Robert Brown Theatre. Dr. Jeremy Owens will present a guest piano recital, Nov. 5 at 7 p.m. While, the Concert Band Fall Concert will take place Nov. 9 at 7 p.m.