News & Events




Press Release



February 20, 2012

Cowley students attend PTK Honors Luncheon


PTKThe 17th Annual Kansas All-State Academic Team luncheon was held on Thursday, February 16 at the Ramada Inn in Topeka, KS. This team is made up of two honor student representatives from each attendance center of every community college in Kansas. Representing Cowley College were Hannah Dillard and Patrick Curl from the Arkansas City campus, and Mark Janzen and Michael Fox from the Mulvane Center.

Each member of the Kansas All-Sate Academic Team receives an honorary medallion and certificate, state-wide recognition through the media, a stipend to be used at the institution of his/her choice and a minimum of $1,000 scholarship to any of the state universities and many of the private universities in Kansas.

The State Academic Teams were introduced in 1994 as a way to provide scholastic recognition to Phi Theta Kappa members, while promoting excellence at two-year colleges. The State Academic Teams are a division of the Academic All-American Team for Community, Technical and Junior College Students, an international program sponsored annually by Phi Theta Kappa, USA TODAY and the American Association of Community Colleges.

The Kansas luncheon is held every year in conjunction with the Kansas Association of Community College Trustees meetings. Besides the All-Kansas Academic Team members, luncheon attendees included community college presidents, administrators and trustees, Kansas state legislators, Phi Theta Kappa advisors and representatives from the major universities in Kansas.

 Dr. Terry Calaway, President of Johnson County Community College, welcomed the luncheon guests. Dr. Jeff Colyer, Lt. Governor of Kansas, gave the keynote address, where he encouraged the honor students to consider staying in Kansas and using their knowledge and skill to help better the Sunflower State. Tammy Fuentez, Phi Theta Kappa Regional Coordinator, introduced each of the academic team members and announced their accomplishments and future academic plans.

 Attending the luncheon from Cowley College were student honorees Hannah Dillard, Patrick Curl, Mark Janzen and Michael Fox, and their guests; Phi Theta Kappa faculty advisor, Nancy Ayers; Dr. Patrick J. McAtee, President of Cowley College; Slade Griffiths, Vice-President of Academic Affairs; and Sue Saia, Vice-President of Student Affairs.