News & Events




Press Release



March 2, 2012

18 students honored during spring Mu Alpha Theta induction ceremony


Mu Alpha Theta induction ceremonyCowley College chapter of Mu Alpha Theta held a spring induction ceremony Thursday in the Earle N. Wright Community Room. Eighteen student received membership certificates and pins from the National Chapter.

After a welcome and introduction by Michelle Schoon, Natural Science Department Chairperson, Sue Saia, vice president of student affairs, addressed the group with a humorous look at “mathletes” and congratulated the students on their achievement. 

Club sponsors, Martin Shaffer and Steve Cooper, and math instructor April Nittler, helped in the initiation ceremony. Students that received membership certificates and pins from the National Chapter were Melinda Boone, Patrick Curl, Bethany Dillard, Hannah Dillard, Kaitlin Ford, Melissa Grant, Dakota Grote, Joseph Mancine, Joseph Marks, Cody McNulty, Emily Miller, Jody Newman, Justin Parton, Sveta Poovey, Caroline Strickland, Chris Turner, Mark Wagner, and Desiree Weakly.

Mu Alpha Theta is an honorary math society for high school and two-year colleges. Students qualify for membership by receiving an “A” in college algebra or a “B” in a higher level math course.