News & Events




Press Release



March 6, 2012

Cowley hosts 61st Annual Kansas Phi Beta Lambda State Leadership Conference


PBLHosting the 61st Annual Kansas Phi Beta Lambda State Leadership Conference on March 2-3, Cowley College had 22 PBL members participate. Of those, 13 placed in the top-three, and 10 students qualified to attend the National PBL Leadership Conference in San Antonio, Texas, June 24-27. 

Co-advisors of the Cowley PBL chapter, Sarah Mathews and Sunni Goentzel, are extremely proud of the PBL member’s accomplishments.

“We enjoyed hosting the 61st Annual State Leadership Conference,” Goentzel said. “It was a lot of work however it paid off; the reward came when we heard our students’ names announced as front-runners. We are all very excited to attend the National Conference in San Antonio.”

Cowley College student awards include: 
Individual Results

  • Brandon Coon of Newkirk, OK
    • 3rd for Financial Concepts
  • Patrick Curl of South Haven
    • 1st in Accounting for Professionals
    • 2nd for Statistical Analysis
  • Ashley Gray of Ponca City, OK
    • 2nd for Project Management
  • Jessica Holdt of Harper
    • 1st for Management Analysis and Decision Making
    • 2nd for Impromptu Speaking
    • 3rd for Public Speaking
  • Jill Kanning of Plentywood, Montana
    • 1st for Sales Presentation
    • 3rd for Justice Administration
  • Shannon Mahon of Derby
    • 1st for Integrated Marketing Campaign
  • Samantha Nolting of Wichita
    • 3rd for Project Management
  • Jordan McDowell of Arkansas City
    • 1st for Impromptu Speaking
    • 1st for Public Speaking
  • Haley Rouleau of Wellington
    • 2nd for Financial Concepts
    • 2nd for Microeconomics
  • Elizabeth Walker of Winfield
    • 2nd for Accounting Principles
  • Amanda Westerman of Valley Center
    • 3rd for Client Services

Team Events

  • Team of Jill Kanning, Jordan McDowell, Samantha Nolting, and Haley Rouleau placed 1st in Parliamentary Procedure.
  • Team of Brandon Coon, Patrick Curl, Samantha Francis, and Ashley Gray placed 3rd in Parliamentary Procedure.
  • Team of Jessica Holdt and Samantha Nolting placed 3rd in Hospitality Management.
  • Team of Ashley Gray and Rhiannon Rosas placed 3rd in Desktop Publishing.

Other colleges participating at the 61st State Leadership Conference were:  Brown Mackie College, Butler Community College, Central Christian College of McPherson, Colby Community College, Emporia State University, Flint Hills Technical College, Fort Hays State University, Labette Community College, Sterling College, and the University of Kansas.