News & Events




Press Release



September 23, 2011

Finalists named for Queen Alalah LXXX


After four days of online voting, the following five women were selected by Cowley College students, faculty, staff, and administration as finalists for Queen Alalah LXXX, to be crowned during the annual Coronation at 7:30 p.m. Oct. 28.

In alphabetical order:
Devin Dice, Arkansas City; Jordan McDowell, Arkansas City; Samantha Nolting, Wichita; Rosemary Simmons, Arkansas City; and Karlye Sturd, Arkansas City.

The Coronation will take place in the Robert Brown Theatre inside the Brown Center for Arts, Sciences and Technology on Cowley’s Arkansas City campus. Persons attending the Queen’s Coronation will vote to determine the next Queen Alalah.

The Coronation is part of the annual fall celebration called Arkalalah, an Indian word meaning “good times.” A complete list of Arkalalah activities will be available within the coming weeks.
There were 326 votes cast to determine the five finalists.