News & Events




Press Release



February 19, 2013

PTKPTK students honored at awards luncheon


Three Cowley College students were recently honored at a luncheon in Topeka for being named to the Kansas All-State Academic Team.

Representing Cowley College were, Jennifer Mendez and Jill Kanning from the Arkansas City campus, and Michael Christian Decker from the Mulvane Center.

Students from Kansas community colleges were recognized at the luncheon. The award ceremony included a keynote address from Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt, who stressed the importance of public service to the honorees, a virtue held dear by the PTK organization.

Cowley College interim president Tony Crouch, and Board of Trustee Chairman Ron Godsey attended the luncheon, as did Ben Schears, vice president of student affairs, and Slade Griffiths, vice president of academic affairs.

Cowley College students were joined by PTK sponsors Chad Killblane, Deborah Layton and Scott Layton.

All three students will have a chance at being named to PTK’s All-America Academic Team, which will be announced in March.