News & Events




Press Release



April 24, 2013

Jazz Band/CC Singers give inspired performance


ConcertFresh off its trip to the University of Northern Colorado Jazz Festival in Greeley, CO, the Cowley College Singers and Cowley Jazz Band returned to Arkansas City to perform a spring concert Tuesday in the Robert Brown Theatre.

With many talented musicians on display, the Cowley College Jazz Band played jazz pieces they performed at the Greeley Jazz Festival.

Justin Davis (Bass), Avery Correia (baritone saxophone), Sarah Enderud (trumpet), Blake Gillihan (tenor saxophone), and guitarists KC Udarbe and Cameron Crabtree had solos during the performance. Josh Fleig, director of the Jazz Band, accompanied the group.

The Jazz Band performed “Basie Eyes”, “Honk”, “Gray Skies”, “Sea Spray”, and “Pick up the Pieces”.

The Cowley College Singers then took the stage under the direction of vocal music director Connie Donatelli and performed "I’ve Got the World on a String”, “I Wish”, “Fever”, “All My Loving”, “Jessie’s Girl”, “Modern Man”, “You’d Be So Nice to Come Home To”, and “I Sing, You Sing”. Sydney Hogan and Joseph Descartes served as soloists on “You’d Be So Nice to Come Home To”. While, Devin Dice and Libby Hooley were soloists on “I Sing, You Sing”.

Next up for the school’s music department is the Cowley Concert Choir and Concert Band Spring Concert, which will be held Tuesday, April 30 at 7 p.m. in the Robert Brown Theatre. There is no cost to attend the concert.

Cowley College Singers are: Rebekah Anliker, Dylan Berry, Jordan Butler, Anthony Caldera, Joseph Descartes, Devin Dice, Megan Hamlett, Sidney Hogan, Elizabeth Hooley, Rachel McAfee, Alex Myers, Marissa Spainhower, Benjamin Stranghoner, Kyle White, Kristan Wiedeman, and Jason Williams.

Jazz Band members are: Matt Allen, Tyler Beach, William Bucher, Jordan Butler, Avery Correia, Cameron Crabtree, Justin Davis, Sarah Enderud, Blake Gillihan, Amy Jo Gragert, Jaci Hall, Jake Loftus, Nathan Metzinger, Ella Riddle, Lara Schmidt, Mollie Talbert, KC Udarbe, Josh Waldorf, and Jason Whitmore.

View photo gallery.