News & Events




Press Release



June 30, 2014


System-Wide Reverse Transfer now in Kansas


transfer"Recognizing reverse transfer as an important element of a seamless educational system, Kansas state universities, community colleges, technical colleges, Washburn University and Washburn Institute of Technology, agree to work together to develop a process to assist students to complete coursework for and attain all certificates and degrees for which they are eligible," was the opening statement of a document signed by all 32 public postsecondary institution presidents.

Presenting the signed resolution to Chairman Fred Logan at this month's meeting of the Board, Emporia State University President Michael Shonrock, Co-Chair of the FY2014 System Council of Presidents, read: "This commitment aims to better facilitate the transfer of students, enhance the number and quality of learning options at Kansas public postsecondary institutions, and provide a seamless transfer process for students."

Statewide reverse transfer policies are now in effect in 20 U.S. states, including Kansas, following the approval of a Board of Regents policy in March 2014.

Within a student's first semester, each university will now notify all students who transfer coursework from a community college or technical college if they are eligible to be considered for reverse transfer degree status, and which courses are needed to finish the related degree. Students who then complete the coursework for a given associate's degree are eligible to receive that degree, administered automatically by correspondence between the university and community college or technical college the student last attended.

States with policies allowing or requiring reverse transfer procedures as of June 2014 include: Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Hawaii, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Nevada, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Tennessee, Texas and West Virginia.

For more information, contact Breeze Richardson at (785) 291-3969 or

Photo Caption: Emporia State University President Michael Shonrock, Co-Chair of the FY2014 System Council of Presidents, signs the "Commitment to Statewide Reverse Transfer." Credit: Kansas Board of Regents