News & Events




Press Release



July 22, 2014


Shurtz named Board Chairman

During its regular meeting of the board held in the McAtee Dining Center, members of the Cowley College Board of Trustees elected Dennis K. Shurtz to fill the role as Chairman of the board for the 2014-2015 year.
Dennis K. Shurtz was elected to the board in 2009 and reelected in 2013. His current term expires in July 2017. Shurtz also served as Board Chairman when he was a member of the Board from 1991 to 1999.
Other officers elected and board appointments for the upcoming year were as follows: Mark Paton, Vice-Chairman; Bob Juden, Voting Delegate to the Kansas Association of Community Colleges Trustees (KACCT); Ron Godsey, Voting Delegate to the Association of Community Colleges Trustees (ACCT); Brian Sanderholm, Trustee Representative for Professional Negotiations; Ned Graham, Trustee Representative to Receive Open Bids; and Dennis K. Shurtz, Trustee Representative to the Cowley College Endowment Association.

The Board also appointed Libby Moore as clerk of the Board, Tony Crouch as treasurer of the Board, and David Andreas as Board attorney.

The Board designated RCB Bank, Union State Bank, CornerBank, Sunflower Bank/Wichita, Legacy Bank/Wichita and Carson Bank/Mulvane as official depositories, and utilize all qualified institutions in the County for the investment of idle funds.

The Board also designated the Arkansas City Traveler and Winfield Daily Courier for publication of official notices, and kept the Board meeting time at 6:45 p.m. on the third Monday of every month.

Also during the meeting, Darron R. Ammon and Wendy Van Dyne of Bartlett & West presented refined Facilities Master Plan concepts to the Board for review during a video conference.

In other matters:

  1. Presented the 2014-2015 operating revenue and expenditures for review.
  2. The Board approved the change of its August meeting to Aug. 11 to allow the adoption of the 2014-2015 operating budget.
  3. Declared the following items surplus: Toro walk-behind mower and a John Deere walk-behind mower.
  4. Tony Crouch provided the Board with the following construction update: Stanfield Roofing has begun work on the roof of Galle-Johnson Hall with a goal of being done by August 1; Mahaney Roofing will begin working on the roof of the Nelson Student Center in early fall; Traver’s Furniture and Carpet is well underway with carpet installation in Kirke Dale Dormitory with scheduled completion prior to Aug. 1; work is underway on replacing the soffit around the entire building. The product going up is a pre-painted metal and should have a life equal to the 40 plus years of the prior product; various sidewalk repair projects will happen across campus in the next few weeks.
  5. Approved the following policies: Non-Discrimination, Anti-Harassment, and Equal Employment Opportunity (128.00); (131.00) Reimbursement for Travel.
  6. Held first-readings for the following policies: College Vehicles (153.00); Social Networking (149.00); and Academic Code of Conduct (402.00).
  7. Tabled the first-reading of the Nepotism (170.00) policy until the August Board meeting.
  8. Approved the decision to renew the tutoring yearly contract.
  9. Crouch recognized the Cowley athletic department for tying for first place in the Kansas Jayhawk Community College Conference with 17 individuals named Academic Student-Athletes. The College also had eight athletic programs receive All-Academic team awards. “This shows our student-athletes are not just here to play, they are also here to study,” Crouch said. “We appreciate their efforts.”
  10. Crouch informed the Board the College came out well in data received from the National Student Clearinghouse Research Center, ACT Collegiate Assessment of Academic Proficiency (CAAP), and the Noel-Levitz student surveys.
  11. Accepted a letter of resignation from Dane Kelly as assistant men’s basketball coach, effective July 31; accepted a letter of resignation from Rachelle Cobble as administrative assistant to the Vice President of Institutional Advancement, effective July 31.
  12. Approved the employment of Josh Cobble as Executive Director of Enrollment Management, effective July 22; approved the employment of Jason O’Toole as Executive Director of Student Affairs, effective July 22; approved the employment of Tiffany Naccarato as Certified Nursing Coordinator, effective July 22; approved the employment of Eric Nitsche as assistant men’s basketball coach, effective July 22; approved the employment of Gavin Brown as dorm manager/intramurals coordinator, effective July 22; approved the employment of Jessica McIver as admissions representative, effective July 22; approved the employment of Lori Barnes as student services representative, effective July 22; approved the employment of Mica Runnels as academic coordinator, effective August 5.
  13. Held a pair of executive sessions totaling one-hour for preliminary discussions relating to professional negotiation, non-elected personnel, property acquisition, and consult with legal counsel.