News & Events




Press Release



October 28, 2013

AEC teams have strong showings in its first competition


Cowley College’s AEC, Academic Excellence Challenge, competed in their first competition on Saturday, October 19 at Neosho County Community College in Chanute, KS. Cowley brought two teams of four students each.


AEC team

Cowley-1 team included Mason Warren (captain), Gracie May, John Rohr, and Ron Slaton. Warren, May, and Rohr are all on an AEC scholarship. Cowley-A team included James Jordan (captain), Chris Cardone, Aniya McGowan, and Anthony Maldonado; although, Anthony was unable to attend the first competition.

This first round of competition was practice for the teams to get a feel of competition at the community college level. Cowley’s competition included four county community colleges from Allen, Coffeyville, Johnson County, and Neosho. Allen and Johnson brought one team each while Coffeyville and Neosho brought two teams each.

Cowley played five rounds and is showing great promise of success in future competitions. Cowley-1 team went undefeated (5-0), but did not compete with the other undefeated team, Johnson County. Cowley-A team won two, tied one, and lost two.

“This was a great result considering we were missing our science and math teammate, Anthony Maldonado,” AEC sponsor Dianne Flickinger said. “Individually, both of our teams have strong players.”

Final scoring revealed Warren in second place as an individual scorer with 350 points, Cardone came in third with 280 points, Slaton in 20th place with 100 points; Rohr in 25th place with 70 points; Jordan in 29th with 40 points; McGowan in 31st with 30 points, and May in 33rd with 20 points out of 35 total players.

AEC will continue to practice every Monday from 2:30-3:30 p.m. in the Webb-Brown Conference Room in preparation for its next competition on December 7.

Pictured, from left, Aniya McGowan, Chris Cardone, John Rohr, Mason Warren, Ron Slaton, James Jordan, and Gracie May.