News & Events



Press Release



March 2, 2015

Cowley students shine at PBL Kansas State Leadership Conference


The 64th annual Phi Beta Lambda Kansas State Leadership Conference was held February 12-14 at Fort Hays State University in Hays, Kanas. Cowley College had 12 student participants and brought home six first place finishes, three second place finishes, and six third place finishes.

The conference offered meetings and seminars that promoted leadership development. Students and advisers participated in workshops covering Parliamentary Procedures, Leadership Styles, Equipping Local Officers, and Networking. This training conference prepares student leaders and members to assume their elected responsibilities and develop valuable life skills.

In addition, it provides the students the opportunity to participate in various competitive events. Ten Students will be traveling to Chicago, IL June 24-28 to compete at the national level.

Sarah Mathews, Cowley College PBL advisor, is extremely proud of the PBL member’s accomplishments. 

“We have had a great PBL year,” Mathews said. “I am extremely proud of our students and their accomplishments and we are all very excited to attend the national conference in Chicago. I am proud to have had each student place at least third in one event or more. I look forward to their success at nationals.”

Cowley College student awards include: 

Individual Results:

  • Ashleigh Huck placed second in Financial Concepts and third in Financial Services.
  • Ian Lamb placed first in Contemporary Sports Issues, first in Sports Management & Marketing, and first in Marketing Concepts.
  • Austin Hendrickson placed second in Computer Applications.
  • Alexis Phakornkham placed third in Accounting Principles.
  • D’Abreian Bush placed first in Hospitality Management.
  • Alicia Kerstetter placed third in Business Presentation.
  • Michael Meloy placed first in Accounting Principles.

Team Events:

Management Analysis & Decision Making took third place:                                  

  • Alexis Phakornkham, Alison Bounvongxay, and John Donaldson.

Business Decision Making took third place:               

  • Alison Bounvongxay, John Donaldson, and Zach Graham.

Parliamentary Procedure took first place:                  

  • Michael Meloy, D’Abreian Bush, Alison Bounvongxay, Zach Graham, and Austin Hendrickson.

Economic Analysis & Decision Making took third place:      

  • Michael Meloy, Tanner Hottinger, and Zach Graham.

Business Ethics took second place:                              

  • Paola Medina and D’Abreian Bush.