News & Events




Press Release



March 24, 2015

Cowley hosts first-ever Best & Brightest Day


Thirty future students at Cowley College visited the school’s main campus in Arkansas City on Tuesday as part of the first-ever Best & Brightest Day. The students are recipients of Trustees, Presidents, and ACT scholarships which are some of the top academic scholarships awarded at Cowley College.

The students were treated to a campus tour as well as lunch before finishing the day by enrolling for the summer or fall semester. Each student was awarded a lapel pin in recognition of their scholarship.

“The fact these high academic students chose Cowley shows we must be doing something right on campus and in the classroom,” Cowley College director of admissions Marcus Hicks said. “This is a testament to the quality education and quality instructors we have at Cowley.”

Hicks complimented the work done by admissions representatives Jessica McIver and Mike Rosales, as well as the job done by Enrollment Services employees Alysa Parson, Lori Barnes, Krys O’ Brien, Mitchell Wright, and Jana Frazier.

Hicks also appreciated the efforts of scholarship coordinator Lisa Grose, director of auxiliary services Shannon O’Toole, vice president for institutional advancement Ben Schears, custodian Gary Hale, and Robert Rogers with Great Western Dining.

“It was a great team effort,” Hicks said.

Open enrollment for Cowley College’s summer and fall semester will begin on Wednesday, March 25 with the school’s Rock ENROLL theme. Students that enroll for summer or fall classes prior to April 12 will automatically be entered into a drawing to win tickets to a future concert (Jason Aldean, Foo Fighters) or sporting event (Wichita Thunder or Wichita Wingnuts).

You can get more information at  or by calling 620-441-6335.

Students recognized at the Best & Brightest event were:

  • From Arkansas City High School: Kiley Hernandez, Kathleen Hankins, Peyton Cravens, Heather Utt, Morgan Bruce, Ashlynn Brake, and Taylar Karnes.
  • From Belle Plain High School: Kayla Wiggins, Mary Wellman, and Jack Detrick.
  • From Campus High School: Brenden Halght and Nicole Strohm.
  • From Cedar Vale High School: Hailey Reed and Tim Call.
  • From Central High School: Emily Mackey.
  • From Clearwater High School: Jaden Mount.
  • From Douglass High School: Hannah Titus.
  • From Goddard High School: Adalia “Addie” Carter.
  • From Labette County High School: Braden Anderson.
  • From Oxford High School: Coltor Silhan.
  • From Rose Hill High School: Logan Santo and Alek Santo.
  • From Salina Central High School: Brooke Cox.
  • From Wichita Northeast Magnet High School: Steven Lu.
  • From Wichita Northwest High School: Alexandria Lisenbee.
  • From Wichita Southeast High School: Tori Wylie and Kylie Fox.
  • From Winfield High School: Austin Sherman, Garrett Misora, and Sela Schmitt.