News & Events




Press Release



April 15, 2015

Madison McDowell named Student of the Year


Madison McDowellMadison McDowell, a sophomore secondary education-math major with a 4.0 GPA, was presented with the Student of the Year award at Cowley College’s annual Honors and Awards ceremony held Tuesday in the Earle N. Wright Community Room.


McDowell, along with the school’s other Student of the Month selections, were up for the prestigious honor of Student of the Year.

McDowell is the daughter of George and Heidi McDowell of Arkansas City. She has a sister, Jordan, and four brothers, Zach, Mason, Hunter, and Trevor.


At Cowley, McDowell is a student ambassador, a Cowley Tutor, and is in Phi Theta Kappa, FCA, Cowley Activities Awareness Team, and participates in intramurals. She is a member of the President’s Honor Roll and the All Kansas Academic Team.


Prior to being named Student of the Year, McDowell was crowned Queen Alalah LXXXIII in the fall.


“This school year has been more than I could have ever wished for,” McDowell said. “I am so glad to have had the opportunity to spend two years at Cowley. I love Cowley and all it has done for me.”


During the Honors and Awards ceremony a representative from each department at Cowley College honored students that have excelled during the 2014-15 academic year.


Tony Crouch, interim president, was proud of the work done by the students that were recognized at Tuesday’s banquet.


“These students have done great things at Cowley,” Crouch said. “This is an amazing night because of the students we have, the faculty that works with them, the staff that supports them, the parents that taught them, and the grandparents that passed on their knowledge.”


After Cowley McDowell plans to attend Wichita State University and obtain a Bachelor’s degree in Mathematics. After graduation she hopes to come back to Ark City to teach math at either the middle school or high school level.


Kristi Shaw, director of student life, organized Tuesday’s event. While, Great Western Dining provided the meal.


Award recipients:

  • Academic Excellence Challenge — Desiree Abernathy, Cassandra Anderson, Amy Austin, Alex Geurin, Shane Kieffer, Anthony Maldonado, Aniya McGowan, Catherine Mills, Quentin Noland, and Mason Warren.
  • Student Ambassadors — Chelsea Ast, Courtney Banks, Ian Brannan, Savannah Case, Dalton Chambers, Kayla Crane, Katrina Cropek, Brauntez Fair, Carrie Fulbright, Tay Haney, Alecia Henson, Becca Hocker, Emily Hollister, Malaree Hood, Holly Landis, Jazmin Lara, Don Leak, Breanna Leake, Marissa Leake, Emily Loehner, Kate Madsen, Madison McDowell, Abbi Moulton, Avery Osen, Hayley Poljansek, Morgan Swisher, and Kandice Wright.
  • Outstanding Ambassadors – Avery Osen, Courtney Banks.
  • Ambassador of the Year – Caroline Fulbright.
  • Resident Assistants — Bryce Byers, Savannah Case, Brauntez Fair, Sarah Glass, Andrew Horning, Ian Lamb, Holly Landis, Derek McKnight, Seth Moore, Brylee New, Damien Odle, Laura Petersburg, Butch Rea, Parker Rigler, Madison Williams, Logyn Williams, Tisay Woodhouse.
  • Cowley Student Senate — Michael Meloy, Kandice Wright, Gracie Mae.
  • Cowley Tutors — Ian Brannan, Kayla Crane, Jaci Goode, Patci Vega Martin, Madison McDowell, Michael Meloy, Brooke Tye, Mason Warren.
  • Tutor of the Year – Kayla Crane.
  • Cowley Activity Awareness Team — Krysanna Allen, Anthony Brannan, D’Abreian Bush, Giana Fiorentino, Kayla Moore, Quentin Noland, Maranda Oak, Arnoldo Ruiz Jr., Deshon Stiner, Madison McDowell.
  • Derek Burroughs Award — Michael Meloy.
  • Health and Human Services Department — Connor Bounds.
  • Business, Computer and Information Technology Department — Ian Lamb.
  • Career and Technical Education Department — Jahue Arnett.
  • Humanities Department — Alecia Henson.
  • Natural Science Department — Mason Warren.
  • Social Science Department — Amy Nicole Austin.
  • ACES — Bridget Fox, Rebecca Hinnenkamp, David Wallace.
  • Act One Drama Club — Courtney Banks, Brauntez Fair, Malaree Hood, Holly Landis, Jonathon Lane, Paige Lundin, Kayla MacLaughlin, Kat Pierce.
  • Art and Design Club — Jazmin Lara, Jennifer Preston.
  • Chi Alpha — Dalton Donaldson, Alecia Henson.
  • Creative Claws — Ian Brannan, Samantha Vawter, Stephanie Blower.
  • Diverse Tiger Club — Ian Brannan.
  • Instrumental Music — Levi Sutton, Justin Woody.
  • Math & Science Club — Dalton Chambers, Amanda Krook, Marissa Leake, Elijah Rebold.
  • Media Club — Tori Addis, Avery Osen.
  • Multicultural Scholars Program — Jesus Rodriguez-Reyes.
  • Phi Beta Lambda — Alison Bounvongxay, Zach Graham, Michael Meloy.
  • Phi Theta Kappa — Tori Anstine, Kayla Crane, Amanda Krook, Laura Petersburg.
  • Skills USA — Timothy Nickel, Cory Shaw, Jeff Townsend.
  • Vocal Music — Hunter DeWald, Sarah Scruggs.
  • Young Democrats – Jerrica Allen, Ian Brannan, Ian Lamb, Wesley Bradford, Mike Burley, D’Abreian Bush, Audon Soto.
  • Students of the Month — Michael Meloy, Amanda Krook, Ian Brannan, Emily Loehner, Madison McDowell, Kayla Crane, Kandice Wright, Laura Petersburg.


View photo gallery.