News & Events




Press Release



July 23, 2015


Cowley College installs newly elected trustees


Having recently been elected to four year terms as trustees of Cowley College, JoLynn Foster, Jim Ramirez (incumbent), and Sid Regnier were administered the Oath of Office during Cowley College’s Board of Trustees regular monthly meeting held Monday in the McAtee Dining Center.


The meeting was also the first for Cowley College president Dr. Dennis Rittle, who thanked the Board for helping with his family’s transition to Arkansas City. The Board members either helped Dr. Rittle in finding a home in Arkansas City, stopped by the family’s home to welcome them to the community, or met any other needs the family had during the relocation process.


Dr. Rittle also praised the volunteer work done by Sid Regnier as he has immersed himself in the fiscal operations of the college. Dr. Rittle also mentioned Libby Moore, Clerk of the Board, the college’s administration and staff, as well as the community as being very welcoming to him and his family.


The board approved the nominations for Board of Trustees’ officers for 2015-2016: Dennis Shurtz, Chairman; Bob Juden, Vice-Chairman and Alternate Voting Delegate to the KACCT and ACCT; Ned Graham, Voting Delegate to the Kansas Association of Community Colleges Trustees (KACCT); Brian Sanderholm, Voting Delegate to the Association of Community Colleges Trustees (ACCT); Jim Ramirez, Trustee Representative for Professional Negotiations; Sid Regnier, Trustee Representative to Receive Open Bids; and JoLynn Foster, Trustee Representative to the Tiger Booster Club.


Board appointments include Elizabeth L. Moore as Clerk of the Board, Dr. Dennis Rittle as interim Treasurer of the Board, and David Andreas as Attorney for the Board.


The Board designated RCB Bank, Union State Bank, CornerBank, Sunflower Bank/Wichita, and Carson Bank/Mulvane as official depositories, and utilize all qualified institutions in the County for the investment of idle funds.


The Board also designated the Arkansas City Traveler and Winfield Daily Courier for publication of official notices, and kept the Board meeting time at 6 p.m. on the third Monday of every month.


In other matters, the board:


  1. Agreed to conduct the Board Retreat from 8 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. Saturday, August 8.
  2. Approved the decision to change the August Board of Trustee meeting date from August 17 to August 10 to allow the adoption of the 2015-2016 operating budget.
  3. Discussed the 46th Annual Community College Leadership Congress which will be held October 14-17 in San Diego, CA.
  4. Heard reports from several employees regarding the 2015-2016 budget.
  5. Paul Erdman, vice president of information technology, shared plans for technology upgrades that are to happen in the near future. Erdman indicated that upgrades to internet speed on campus should be complete by the fall semester.
    Janice Stover, interim vice president of academic affairs, spoke of the Golden Tigers program at Cowley College which is in its 41st year. Margaret Neal is in her 18th year as the Golden Tigers program coordinator. Last year, the program had a total of 386 participants.
    Ben Schears, vice president for institutional advancement, informed the Board of the recent Block Party held at the school’s new Center in Wichita. While, Josh Cobble, executive director of enrollment management, thanked Sara Bryant, Todd Ray, and other individuals at Cowley College for helping make the Block Party a success.
    Jason O’Toole, executive director of Student Affairs, said 414 of 482 dorm contracts have been accepted. O’Toole said Cowley College continues to be among the top community colleges in the state in terms of student housing.
    Shane Larson, athletic director, informed the Board that volleyball, soccer, and cross country teams are preparing for the fall season. He also shared details of the recent Brian Groves/Tiger Booster Club Golf Tournament that was held in June. While, the college’s annual Blitz Drive Tiger Booster Club Scholarship fundraiser will take place August 5.
  6. Approved the 2015-2016 Master Agreement between the Cowley County Community College Education Association and the Board of Trustees.
  7. Heard a presentation for a new club that Mulvane Center chemistry instructor Chad Killblane would like to start.
  8. Heard presentations of projects from the Arkansas City Middle School summer school program.
  9. Approved the payment of all Bills and Claims as presented herein which is general operating funds of $1,204, 996.47; financial aid funds totaling $617,010.68; and endowment funds of $23,858.24.
  10. Accepted a letter of retirement from Larry Swaim as director of purchasing, effective Oct. 1. Swaim began employment at the college on March 1, 1984.
  11. Accepted a letter of resignation from Adam Borth as Director of Communications, effective July 31.
  12. Approved the hiring of Dr. Gloria Walker as vice president of finance and administration, effective September 1; Dr. Harold Arnett as vice president of academic affairs, effective September 1; Amy Roney as cosmetology instructor, effective August 1; Zachary Lind as Faculty-3D Art instructor, effective August 1; Kimberlee Cook as Humanities instructor, effective August 1; Robyn Hill as Social Science instructor, effective August 1; Loretta Klamik as Social Science instructor, effective August 1; Leslie Newman as Health Services Coordinator, effective July 27; Mike Rosales as Advisor-Student Support Services, effective August 1; Brandi Gibbs as admissions representative, effective August 10; James E. Brown as Student Accessibility Coordinator, effective August 1; Darshaya Gallard as assistant volleyball coach/dorm manager, effective July 24; Haley Strawn as assistant softball coach, effective August 1; Jancye Sturd as admissions representative, effective July 21; Erin Burroughs as admissions representative, effective July 21; and Chris Fuller as admissions representative for the Mulvane Center, effective August 1.
  13. Held a 30-minute executive session to for preliminary discussion of property, non-elected personnel, and consult with legal counsel.