News & Events




Press Release



August 21, 2014

Students, donors pack Wright Room for Endowment Scholarship Reception

Presentation of scholarships to studentsMore than 100 individuals filled Cowley College’s Earle N. Wright Community Room Tuesday evening for the school’s fourth annual Endowment Scholarship Reception in which incoming students receiving endowed scholarships were brought together with the individuals who donated money to fund the scholarships. The event was sponsored through a generous gift from The Trust Company of Kansas.

Cowley College’s Endowment Association awarded 180 scholarships worth over $105,000 to students for the 2014-2015 academic year.

Ben Schears, vice president for institutional advancement, Elizabeth Thummel, Endowment Coordinator, and Lisa Grose, scholarship coordinator, helped make the evening a success. While, Endowment Board Chair Nick Rogers also helped with the event.

Schears served as the emcee for the evening and said the reception focused on giving the donors an opportunity to meet the students receiving their scholarship.

“I would like to give a big thanks to the donors for taking time out to celebrate the students that received these scholarships,” Schears said.

Several Cowley College Endowment Board members and school administrators were on hand to celebrate the students receiving scholarships. While, food and drinks were provided by Great Western Dining.

Cowley College 2014-15 Endowment Scholarship Reception Recipients:

Elizabeth Northcutt Scholarship

Lacey Clark
Warren Andreas Scholarship
Christopher Johnson
Ark City Clinic Scholarship
Amanda Krook
Ark City Tumbleweeds Scholarship
Michael Frederick
Barkley Scholarship
Alvina McCreary
Boyer Education Trust Scholarship
Payton Baker
Kyrstin Black
Gracie Defore
Michelle Diver
Remington Friend
Jacob Haist
Ashleigh Huck
Parker Daugherty
Andrew Peck
Kali Tingen
Levi Turney
Martha Brandenburg Music Scholarship
Malori Clark
Robert Brown Memorial Scholarship
Haley Johnson
Laramie McClary
Andrew Orocio
Derek Burroughs Memorial Scholarship
Kandice Wright
Mildred F. Carpenter and Marie Vickers Scholarship
Haylee Jones
Vanessa Onyemechi
Alexis Penney
Sawyer Stone
Gene and Donella Cole Scholarship
Lynn Craft
Kirke Dale Memorial Trust Scholarship
Brianna Hill
Marissa McKinley
Edith and Harry Darby Scholarship
Caitlyn Peters
David Family Scholarship
Bailye Butler
Duck Dash Scholarship
Alex Behrens
Shelton Draper
Shane Kieffer
Garret Vickery
Lyle and Terry Eaton Scholarship
Juan Martinez
E.A. Funk Scholarship
Sarah Finks
Gordon-Piatt William Krusor Memorial Scholarship
Makenzie Snyder
Hall of Scholars Scholarship
Paige Bates
Emily Gorajewski
Hutchinson Trust Scholarship
Justin Grimm
Morgan Ruckman
Hubert and Mildred Johnston Scholarship
Taylor Archer
Rachel Burroughs
John and Olive Kappler Scholarship
Kayla Powell
Jim Kelly Scholarship
Samuel Hecker
Dr. Charles D. Kerr Memorial Scholarship
Ally Wysocki
Warren Koeller Scholarship
Mercedes Nihart
Harold and Mary Lake Scholarship
Alvina McCreary
Lakewynds Scholarship
Makena Watkins
Clay and Betty Lemert Scholarship
Austin Hendrickson
Scott MacLaughlin Memorial Scholarship
Garrett Wolf
Paige Lundin
Kevin and John Mitchell Memorial Scholarship
James Hewitt
Craig D. Newman Memorial Scholarship
Katrina Cropek
Hannah Davis
Amber Sampson
Jean Newman Scholarship
Katrina Cropek
Donald and Wilda Patterson Trust Scholarship
Steven Campbell
Zachary Helzer
Deja Hernandez
Christian Simmons
L G Pike Construction Scholarship
Parker Thomas
Sid Regnier Scholarship
Ally Wysocki
Rodeo Key Club Scholarship
Jessica Fitzpatrick
Rotto Lotto Scholarship
Kelsea Bixler
Shanks Family Jodi Sanderholm Memorial Scholarship
Jaclyn Taylor
E.W. and Lauretta Shelton Scholarship
Sarah Finks
Eldon Smith Scholarship
Austin Hendrickson
David and Peggy Soule Family Scholarship
Oscar DeLeon-Lopez
Dan Spangler Memorial Scholarship
Jazmin Lara
Audra and Daniel Stark Scholarship
Bailye Butler
Jordan Hamed
Florence Stephens Scholarship
Kayla Moore
Robert and Helen Storbeck Scholarship
Samantha McClaflin
Jeffrey Townsend
Lawrence and Lorene Swaim Memorial Scholarship
Malori Clark
Union State Bank Scholarship
Makenzie Snyder
Robert Warrender Memorial Scholarship
Malori Clark
Dale Wasson Memorial Scholarship
Laurel Barrientos
Keri Korthals
Bob and Patricia White Scholarship
Christopher Johnson
Fred Wilson Scholarship
Chasity Burkett
Bea Wright Scholarship
Jordan Hamed