News & Events




Press Release



October 30, 2014

Jazz Band and CC Singers to perform concert on Nov. 6


ConcertSet to perform a wide variety of jazz styles and tunes, the Cowley College Jazz Band and CC Singers will perform a jazz concert Thursday, Nov. 6 at 7 p.m. in the Robert Brown Theatre.

The Jazz Band will open the concert by performing Beach Bossa, Well You Needn’t, When I Was a Lad, A Matter of Time, Footprints, and Blue Madness. They will hit on the four “B’s”, Blues, Bossa Nova, Bebop, and Ballad.

“The band is well rehearsed and ready to play,” Jazz Band director Josh Fleig said. “We have several very solid improvisers in the group, and I am looking forward to showcasing their talent on the concert. This band develops and matures more and more each year and it is very gratifying to hear that progression.”

The CC Singers are led by vocal music director Connie Donatelli, who said jazz music is among America’s greatest cultural achievements and exports to the world community giving a powerful voice to the American experience.

The history of Jazz music origins is attributed to the turn of the 20th century New Orleans; however it was also simultaneously occurring in Kansas City, Saint Louis, and Chicago. It unites people across the divides of race, religion and national boundaries and has always made powerful statements about freedom, creativity and American identity at home and abroad.

The CC Singers will perform “I Sing, You Sing”, “Satin Doll”, “God Bless’ the Child”, “I’ve Got the World on a String”, and “Everything”.

“This concert will be an extremely fun and enjoyable evening for everyone,” Donatelli said.

Members of the CC Singers are, Hunter DeWald, Lizzie Hampton, Andrew Horning, Vaughn Jenkins, Abby Killman, Brenda Mattson, Abby Ronnfeldt, and Joey White.

Members of the Jazz Band are:

  • Saxophones – Breanna Baxter, Abi Hasselbring, Ian McMains, Jacob Westerman, Jacob Worm
  • Trumpets – Sutton Wilson, Justin Woody, Valerie Schlegel, Lake Ferguson, Jonathan Lane
  • Trombone – Michael Burley, Brooke Tye, Woodrow Harmon, Josh Waldorf
  • Guitar – Logan Brewer
  • Piano – Levi Sutton
  • Bass – Lee Valasquez (special guest)
  • Drums – Henry Flickinger, Ty Spencer