News & Events




Press Release



October 31, 2014

Theatre Department opens season with Little Shop of Horrors


fall musicalCowley College's theatre troupe kicked off its 2014-2015 season on Thursday with a production of Little Shop of Horrors, a charming and hilarious spoof of the 1950s sci-fi movie based on the film by Roger Corman. The fall musical will also be performed at 7:30 p.m. Friday and Saturday night in the Robert Brown Theatre.

“I’m so happy with how things are going,” Cowley theatre director John Sefel said. “The opening night crowd—not to mention the invited high schools for our dress rehearsal-loved it, and have been very vocal in letting us know. As I’ve found since the first day I stepped on campus, I’m simply overwhelmed by the amount of support and camaraderie from the entire Cowley family.”

The music in the production is a catchy combination of Motown, gospel, rhythm and blues and 60’s rock and roll influenced tunes.

Little Shop of Horrors tells the story of Seymour, a down-and out skid row floral assistant who discovers an exotic plant. "Audrey II" grows into an ill-tempered, foul-mouthed, R&B-singing carnivore who offers him fame and fortune in exchange for feeding its growing appetite for fresh blood.

The cost is $10 for adults and $8 for students and Blue Star Military families. Gold cards are accepted.

Tickets may be purchased at the Brown Center Box Office by calling 620-441-5570 or at the Internet Box Office

Along with Sefel, Connie Donatelli is serving as the music director, while Cara Kem is handling the choreography. Jamison Rhoads is the technical director handling scenery, lighting and sound design.

Cast and Production Team:

  • Courtney Andrews – William Morris Agency Secretary, Botanist.
  • Anna Aspinwall – Puppeteer #2.
  • Courtney Banks – Skid Row soloist, Fan Girl, Don’t Feed the Plants soloist.
  • Alex Behrens – Puppeteer #1.
  • Hunter DeWald – Orin Scrivello, D.D.S., Skid Row Resident.
  • Brauntez L. Fair – Stage Manager.
  • Alex L. Geurin – Mr. Bernstein, Swing.
  • Aaron Hein – Skip Snip, Skid Row soloist, Don’t Feed the Plants soloist, understudy to Mushnik and Orin.
  • Elizabeth “Lizzy” Hampton – Chiffon.
  • Malaree Hood – Make-up and Hair Designer.
  • Andrew Horning – Seymour Krelborn.
  • Abby Killman – Skid Row soloist, Customer, Fan Girl, Don’t Feed the Plants soloist, and understudy to Audrey.
  • Holly Landis – Audrey.
  • Jonathan Lane – Skid Row soloist, Customer, Mrs’ Luce’s driver, Don’t Feed the Plants soloist, and understudy to Seymour.
  • Emily Loehner – Production Team: Dramaturgy Intern, Costume Construction/Tailoring. Skid Row soloist, Customer, Fan Girl.
  • Paige Lundin – Production Team: Assistant Director, Primary Director for Act Two Opening/”Call Back in the Morning”/Plant Choreography. Mrs. Luce, Botanist, Swing.
  • Kayla McLaughlin – Costume Designer.
  • Marty O’ Sullivan – Guest Artist, voice of Audrey II, Prologue Narration.
  • Stuart Parman – Guest Artist: Mushnik.
  • Kat Pierce – Assistant Stage Manager.
  • Megan Rutter – Assistant Stage Manager.
  • Sarah Scruggs – Crystal.
  • Kyle Smith – Dental Patient, Patrick Martin.
  • Garrett Wolf – Derelict.
  • Kandice Wright – Ronette.

View photo gallery.