News & Events




Press Release



December 9, 2014


Cowley AEC team plays host to Snow Bowl TournamentAEC

Thirteen teams took part in the Academic Excellence Challenge (AEC) Snow Bowl Tournament Saturday at Cowley College’s main campus in Arkansas City.

Cowley had three teams represented at the tournament as the “A” team placed second, the “B” team finished third, and the “C” team ended in 10th place.

“Cowley is Bold, Cowley is Smart, and now Cowley is Excellence,” Cowley AEC sponsor Dianne Flickinger said.

The Garden City “A” team came won the tournament.

At one point, Cowley “A” competed against Cowley “B” for the winner’s bracket. It was Civil War according to Chris Cardone, the history expert on the Cowley “A” team.

The Snow Bowl tournament was the last competition for Cardone at Cowley as he will graduate from the school in December and plans to head to Fort Hays State University to major in history.

“It has been quite an adventure,” Cardone said. “The AEC team has helped me gain a lot more knowledge of different subjects.”

Flickinger said the AEC team will greatly miss Cardone and his extensive knowledge of history.

“We will definitely need someone to replace Chris for our spring semester,” Flickinger said.

Competing for the Cowley “B” team, Anthony Maldonado placed first individually out of 50 students.

Desiree Abernathy of the Cowley “A” team earned a second place medal, and Ian Smith of the Cowley “C” team placed third.

Schools represented at the tournament were, Allen Community College, Cloud Community College, Coffeyville Community College, Dodge City Community College, Garden City Community College, and Johnson County Community College.

“Our AEC guests have always been  impressed with our campus and hospitality,” Flickinger said.
Cowley faculty members Frank Arnold, Mark Dykes, Mark Flickinger, Jamison Rhoads, and Meg Smith volunteered to moderate and keep score at the event as did Cowley Activity Awareness Team member D’Abreian Bush.

Great Western Dining provided snacks/drinks and lunch, while the college’s building and grounds crew and campus security also helped with the event.

Those interested in participating on the Cowley College AEC team should contact Dianne Flickinger at 620-441-5211.

Cowley AEC Team members:
Cowley A – Desiree Abernathy, Amy Austin, Chris Cardone, and Mason Warren.
Cowley B team – Alex Guerin, Shane Kieffer, Anthony Maldonado, and Ron Slaton.
Cowley C team – Cassie Anderson, Catherine Mills, and Ian Smith.